view counter
view counter

National Driving Championship Field

Published: July 19, 2016 8:52 am ET

Last Comment: July 19, 2016 8:50 pm ET | 3 Comment(s) | Jump to Comments

The field for the 2016 National Driving Championship is now confirmed as the Quebec / Eastern Ontario Regional Driving Championship held this past Tuesday (July 12) at Hippodrome 3R determined the final two drivers.

Eight drivers from across the country have qualified in four regional events and will congregate in London, Ont. this October to battle it out for the National Driving Championship title and the honour of representing Canada in the 2017 World Driving Championship on home turf. Standardbred Canada will present the NDC at The Raceway at Western Fair District on Friday, October 14.

Here is a recap of the qualifying drivers:

James MacDonald of Guelph, Ont., won the Ontario Regional event at Grand River Raceway while Trevor Henry, of Arthur, Ont., finished as the runner-up. This will be MacDonald’s first NDC and Henry’s second, as he competed in the 2011 event. Henry later went on to represent Canada in the 2013 World Driving Championship in France.

Atlantic Regional winner Jason Hughes of Stratford, PEI, and runner up Corey MacPherson, of Vernon Bridge, PEI, will make their first NDC appearance after qualifying at Red Shores Racetrack & Casino at Charlottetown Driving Park.

After finishing 1-2 in the Western Regional at Century Downs Racetrack and Casino, Brandon Campbell, of Calgary, Alta. and Jim Marino, of Surrey, B.C., are both hoping to return from the NDC with more than Air Miles. Both of these drivers took part in the 2014 event at Red Shores Racetrack and Casino at CDP, and this will mark Campbell’s third consecutive attempt at the National title as he also competed in 2011.

The Quebec/Eastern Ontario Regional was won by Guy Gagnon, of Gatineau, Que., who competed in the 2014, and 2009 events, while Brett MacDonald, of Embrun, Ont., makes his NDC debut with his runner-up finish, only one point back of Gagnon in last Tuesday's qualifier.

Here’s a look at the drivers:

Brandon Campbell
Guy Gagnon
Trevor Henry
Jason Hughes
Brett MacDonald
James MacDonald
Corey MacPherson
Jim Marino

Years Driving

Career Starts

Career Wins

$7.45 million
$21.6 million
$42.8 million
$1.80 million
$17.9 million
$11.9 million

Standardbred Canada would like to extend our sincere thanks and appreciation to all of the trainers and owners who entered their horses in the four events, the drivers who gave up their drives, as well as the four tracks and their staff for hosting the Regionals -– Grand River Raceway, Red Shores Racetrack and Casino at CDP, Century Downs Racetrack and Casino, and Hippodrome 3R.

On Friday, October 14, one of these eight drivers will be crowned the 2016 National Driving Champion and represent Canada in the 2017 World Driving Championship, which will be hosted in Canada next August.

July 19, 2016 - 8:50 pm67 wins... GOOOOOOO BRETT

Will Yamakva SAID...

67 wins... GOOOOOOO BRETT !!!!!!!

$970k... Gooooo Corey........

...and if either of these two should win, I would love to work on your marketing campaign. Both of you two are EXACTLY what Canadian harness racing needs to market the sport going forward. I am cheering and watching from afar.

Best of luck to all drivers involved.

July 19, 2016 - 9:40 amWhere is Jody? I guess there

Dave Webber SAID...

Where is Jody? I guess there is a new sheriff in town!

view counter

© 2021 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal