2024 National Driving Championship



NDClogoStandardbred Canada is pleased to announce the host tracks and dates for the 2024 National Driving Championship (NDC) and the Regional Driving Championships. The final will take place at Hippodrome 3R, in Trois-Rivières, Que., on Friday, July 5.

The National Driving Championship will determine Canada’s representative in the 2025 World Driving Championship set to be held in New Zealand. 

Regional Driving Championships 

  • Tuesday, April 23 - Ontario Regional Driving Championship - The Raceway at Western Fair District; London, Ont.
  • Saturday, May 11 - Western Regional Driving Championship - Century Downs; Calgary, Alta.
  • Saturday, May 25 - Atlantic Regional Driving Championship - Red Shores Racetrack and Casino at Charlottetown Driving Park; Charlottetown, P.E.I.
  • Sunday, June 2 - Quebec / Eastern Ontario Regional Driving Championship - Hippodrome 3R; Trois-Rivières, Que.

National Driving Championship

  • Friday, July 5 - Hippodrome 3R; Trois-Rivières, Que. 

Competing Drivers


Tyler Borth (71) and James MacDonald (59) advance to the 2024 National Driving Championship at Hippodrome 3R in Trois-Rivieres, Que. on Friday, July 5. The final Ontario Regional Driving Championship leaderboard is as follows: 

  1. Tyler Borth - 71
  2. James MacDonald - 59
  3. Louis-Philippe Roy - 56
  4. Bob McClure - 53
  5. Brett MacDonald - 52
  6. Travis Henry - 42
  7. Garrett Rooney - 38
  8. Trevor Henry - 31
  9. Travis Cullen - 25

Phil Giesbrecht (62) and Mike Hennessy (61) advance to the 2024 National Driving Championship at Hippodrome 3R in Trois-Rivieres, Que. on Friday, July 5. The final Ontario Regional Driving Championship leaderboard is as follows: Here's the official WRDC leaderboard:

  1. Phil Giesbrecht - 62
  2. Mike Hennessy - 61
  3. Scott Knight - 56
  4. David Kelly - 52
  5. Nathan Sobey - 49
  6. David Hudon - 43
  7. Kelly Hoerdt - 42
  8. Blake Piwniuk - 11

Atlantic Regional Driving Championship Leaderboard - TBD

Quebec/Eastern Ontario Regional Driving Championship Leaderboard - TBD

Past Winners

Past winners of the NDC title include Doug McNair (2022 2018), Brandon Campbell (2016), Jody Jamieson (2014 & 2011), Brad Forward (2009), and Gilles Barrieau (2007).

Regional events will feature up to nine drivers who will compete in a series of races. Drivers will receive points based on their finishing position and the top two point earners will advance to the National Driving Championship.

World Driving Championship – Canada’s Champions

Canadian drivers have won the World Driving Championship on five occasions -- Herve Filion (1970), Sylvain Filion (1999), Jody Jamieson (2001, 2011) and James MacDonald (2017). MacDonald was the first Canadian driver to win on home soil.

General Information

Since 2007, Standardbred Canada has been using a new format to determine Canada's representative for the World Driving Championship.

The concept behind the National Driving Championship is to bring regional representatives together to compete in a one-day championship that will determine Canada's representative to the World Driving Championship.

Traditionally determined by a formula that included earnings, wins and UDRS rating, the Canadian rep will now have to beat out some of the country's finest drivers and earn the National Driving Championship title.

This format includes one-day regional championships where the top two drivers advance to the national championship. 

2007 - Red Shores (Gilles Barrieau)

2009 - Fraser Downs (Brad Forward)

2011 - Red Shores (Jody Jamieson) 

2014 - Red Shores (Jody Jamieson) 

2016 - Raceway at Western Fair (Brandon Campbell)

2018 - Grand River Raceway (Doug McNair)

2022 - Century Mile (Doug McNair)

2024 - Hippodrome 3R (TBD)

Have something to say about this? Log in or create an account to post a comment.