view counter
view counter

2020 National Driving Championship >> Format & Point System

The Format
One regional event will take place in each of the Western, Ontario, Quebec and Atlantic regions of Standardbred Canada in May and June of 2020. Each region of Standardbred Canada is made up of the following provinces:

Western Region – Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, British Columbia
Ontario Region – Ontario
Quebec/ Eastern Ontario Region – Quebec, Eastern Ontario
Atlantic Region – Newfoundland, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick

The top two finalists from the four regional championships will compete in the National Driving Championship that will be held at Century Mile in Edmonton, AB., on September 11, 2020.

The Point System

The National Driving Championship will adapt the point system utilized in the World Driving Championship. Points will be awarded on the order of finish as follows:

Number of Starters: 9
16 (1st)
11 (2nd)
8 (3rd)
6 (4th)
5 (5th)
4 (6th)
3 (7th)
2 (8th)
1 (9th)

Number of Starters: 8
15 (1st)
10 (2nd)
7 (3rd)
5 (4th)
4 (5th)
3 (6th)
2 (7th)
1 (8th)

The two drivers that accumulate the most points in each region's competition will advance to the National Driving Championship. The driver that earns the most points in the National Driving Championship will represent Canada at the 2019 World Driving Championship.

view counter

© 2020 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal