2022 National Driving Championship >> Format & Point System

The Format

One regional event will take place in each of the Western, Ontario, Quebec and Atlantic regions of Standardbred Canada in May and June of 2022. Each region of Standardbred Canada is made up of the following provinces:

Western Region – Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, British Columbia

Ontario Region – Ontario

Quebec/ Eastern Ontario Region – Quebec, Eastern Ontario

Atlantic Region – Newfoundland, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick

The top two finalists from the four regional championships will compete in the National Driving Championship that will be held at Century Mile in Edmonton, AB., on November, 24, 2022.

The Point System

The National Driving Championship will adapt the point system utilized in the World Driving Championship. Points will be awarded on the order of finish as follows:

Number of Starters: 9

16 (1st)

11 (2nd)

8 (3rd)

6 (4th)

5 (5th)

4 (6th)

3 (7th)

2 (8th)

1 (9th)

Number of Starters: 8

15 (1st)

10 (2nd)

7 (3rd)

5 (4th)

4 (5th)

3 (6th)

2 (7th)

1 (8th)

The two drivers that accumulate the most points in each region's competition will advance to the National Driving Championship. The driver that earns the most points in the National Driving Championship will represent Canada at the 2023 World Driving Championship.

Have something to say about this? Log in or create an account to post a comment.