Award Winners Honoured In P.E.I.

Published: April 18, 2015 10:38 pm EDT

Longtime owner and industry volunteer Carl Bagnall of Stratford, P.E.I. and pacing colt Dixieland Band, owned by Reg MacPherson and David and Aaron MacKenzie, were the major award winners at the sold out PEI Standardbred Horse Owners Awards held Saturday, April 18 at the Rodd Royalty Inn.

Bagnall was recognized for his contribution to P.E.I. racing as a breeder, owner, trainer, driver, and industry official.

Dixieland Band edged out Paymenowpaymelater for Horse of the Year honours in one of the closest results in recent event history. Dixieland Band was bred by Bill Andrew of Meridian Farms and earned almost $51,000 in his two-year-old campaign.

Scott MacPhail was named Horseman of the Year for his decades long contribution to the P.E.I. matinee racetrack program. Gold Cup and Saucer co-ordinator Heather Dixon was named Horsewoman of the Year for her service to the successful Old Home Week racing program.

Guest speaker Dr. Ian Moore updated the crowd on his stable star State Treasurer and the large roster of young horses he is prepping for the Grand Circuit competitions.

Other award winners were:

Two-Year-Old Colt Trot
Windemere Ty had earnings of over $21,000 and top three finishes in 10 of his 14 starts. Bred by Windemere Farms and Margaret Watts, owned and trained by Ralph Annear, co-owned and driven by Jack Panting.

Two-Year-Old Filly Trot
Paymenowpaymelater was a nine-time winner, with earnings of $30,862. Bred by Eldred Nicholson and Peter Buchanan, owned by Wade Peconi, trained by Earl Watts, and driven by Kenny Arsenault.

Two-Year-Old Pacing Colt
Atlantic Breeders Crown winner Dixieland Band earned almost $51,000 in 2014. Bred by Bill Andrew of Meridian Farms, owned by Reg MacPherson, David and Aaron MacKenzie, trained by Kevin MacLean, and driven by Gilles Barrieau.

Two-Year-Old Pacing Filly
The winner of almost $37,000, Dusty Lane Bria, was bred by Travis Wilkie, owned by Larry Chappell, co-owned and trained by Kenny Wilkie, and primarily driven by Kenny Arsenault.

Three-Year-Old Colt Trot
Dusty Lane Galaxy earned over $24,000 in 2014 and took a record of 2:01. Bred by Michelle Bohrer and John Langdon, co-owned by Peter Buchanan and the estate of George Boswell, trained and driven by Gary Chappell.

Three-Year-Old Filly Trot
Maritime Breeders champion Southfield Shadow earned $19,000 and was bred by Meridian Farms, owned by Southfield Farms, trained by Thane Mann, and driven by Terry Gallant.

Three-Year-Old Pacing Colt
Arties Magic was bred and co-owned by Windemere Farms, co-owned by Clive Balderston, and trained by Earl Watts.

Three-Year-Old Pacing Filly
A winner of over $56,000, Lovineveryminute was owned by Kent Duggan, Lana Murphy and Windemere Farms, and trained by Earl Watts.

Claiming Horse of the Year
Forever Paradise was a seven-time winner in the Maritime claiming ranks in 2014, bred by Art and Colin Millar, owned by Reg MacPherson, trained by Kevin MacLean, and driven by Marc Campbell.

Aged Trotting Horse
A 13-time winner in 2014, Zip The Lip had an incredible 23 for 26 in the top three. Owned by Orville Willis and trainer Don Sweet, and driven by Brian MacPhee.

Aged Trotting Mare
Pleasure Girls was a 2:00.3 winner at the CDP and is owned by Shelley Gass, trained by father Ronnie, and driven by Corey MacPherson.

Aged Pacing Horse
Astor was a 1.55.4 winner at the CDP with earnings of over $24,000. Owned by Foxyhall Racing Stable, trained and driven by Jason Hughes.

Aged Pacing Mare
Stayoutofmyaffair was a nine-time winner, including a 1:55.1 clocking at the CDP. Owned by Robbie Hughes, trained and driven by Jason Hughes.

Fan Favourite Award
One of the toughest campaigners in Prince Edward Island racing, a 53-time winner, and a horse that is getting better with age. Blu Meadow Willie was bred by Ralph Frizzell, co-owned by Brenda MacInnis, and co-owned, trained, and driven by Bob McInnis.

Pacing Horse of the Year
Dixieland Band

Trotter of the Year

Horse of the Year
Dixieland Band

Grooms of the Year
Melissa MacRae and Shane Baglole

Mr Trot Challenge
Brian MacPhee

Rookie Driver
Brandon Webster

Leading Percentage Driver
Gilles Barrieau (with a UDRS of .419)

Leading Dash-Winning Drivers
Marc Campbell and Jason Hughes (tied with 126 wins in 2014)

Leading Percentage Trainer
Earl Watts.

Appreciation Awards
Hon. Ron MacKinley and Heather Gamester

Standardbred Canada Owner of the Year
Dan Ross

Most Dedicated Horseperson
Gary Chappell

(With files from PEI Horse Owners Association)

Have something to say about this? Log in or create an account to post a comment.