view counter
 
view counter
 
 

Canadian Pacing Derby Finish Order Restored

wtw1.jpg

Published: January 28, 2009 12:19 pm ET

Last Comment: February 2, 2009 9:45 pm ET | 11 Comment(s) | Jump to Comments

The connections of Won The West recently appealed the placing of their Western Hanover gelding in the 2008 edition of the Canadian Pacing Derby to the Ontario Racing Industry Board of Appeal. The outcome has proved to be in their favour.

In rein to Greg Grismore in the $702,000 event, which took place August 16 at Mohawk Racetrack, Won The West was on the lead along the pylons turning for home and through the stretch. The gelding finished second in the race, as Mister Big captured the event in 1:50. Although, the presiding Ontario Racing Commission judges ruled that Won The West went inside two consecutive pylons in the stretch, and was therefore placed back to fourth.

2008 Canadian Pacing Derby

The placing meant that Western Shore, who finished third, was moved up to second on the official chart, with Eagle Luck moving up from fourth to third.

After hearing the appeal from Won The West's connections, the Ontario Racing Industry Board of Appeal upheld the appeal, thus restoring the original order of finish. According to the Board, the left wheel of Grismore's sulky came into contact with one pylon and then went inside the next pylon. The contact and straddling, according to the Board, did not give Won The West an unfair advantage nor did it improve his position in the race.

Mike Wilson, assistant supervisor of standardbred racing for the ORC, has told Trot Insider that the connections of Western Shore and Eagle Luck have now appealed this ruling, and their respective appeals will be heard by the ORC at a date yet to be determined.

February 2, 2009 - 9:45 pmyou can place grismores

dave (not verified) SAID...

you can place grismores horse back that day but you couldn't place macelroys horse back at western fair?

February 2, 2009 - 8:09 pmWhy not implement a rule

Anonymous (not verified) SAID...

Why not implement a rule stating NO going inside ANY pylons, or they're placed last.

January 31, 2009 - 9:09 amsnap out of it, only one

Anonymous (not verified) SAID...

snap out of it, only one pylon you need to get your eyes checked.

January 29, 2009 - 8:06 pmI don't no if you guys know

Anonymous (not verified) SAID...

I don't no if you guys know the actual rules now.They were changed a couple of years ago,there is nothing about gaining an advantage anymore.it says you can go inside 1 free,2 in a row you are place behind lapped on horses at the wire,3 and your out. that's it !! ive watched the replay on horseplayer many times,he is clearly inside 2 pylons in a row in the stretch.

January 29, 2009 - 11:41 amGrismore hit one pylon and

Anonymous (not verified) SAID...

Grismore hit one pylon and went inside of one, so he should not have been disqualified. I bet a horse on Dec. 29, in race #3 at Woodbine that finished second to Stonebridge Leader. Near the 1/4 pole, Stonebridge Leader went inside of 3 consecutive pylons, but the judges ruled only one and left him the winner. Can anyone tell me how a bettor can get this wrong righted as I have no appeal process available?

January 29, 2009 - 6:22 amThe Hub Rail For Safety For

Glenn Todd (not verified) SAID...

The Hub Rail For Safety For Sure.......I Do Not Know What Replay The Judges Have Watched But The Horse Was Clearly Inside The Pylon..... At Least 1 Of Them .....I Know The Rule.... But Watch How Much The Horse Moves Out After The Pylon Is Hit......If This Was A Hub Rail Do You Think The Driver Would Of Been As Close......They Are Taking Advantage Of A Rule That Needs To Be Reviewed.The Rule Should Read Inside The Pylons And You Are Disqualified .....Then We Still Have The Safety Factor And It Is Fair For Everyone.

January 28, 2009 - 10:41 pmI totally agree with the

Grant (not verified) SAID...

I totally agree with the decision.
Although I don't attend many harness races anymore, I do like to see the 'big' races like the Canadian Pacing Derby at Mohawk raceway.
From watching the live race (& numerous replays of it)I found it difficult to determine if Won The West went inside one pylon, but I was sure he didn't go inside more than one ... & he shouldn't have been disqualified because he definitely did not interfere with (or gain any unfair advantage over) any other horse in the stretch drive.
After the race, I sent an e-mail of complaint (about the disqualification) to Woodbine Entertainment & they sent me back various e-mails of explanation.
Unfortunately, I'm S.O.L. on the exactor & triactor tickets that I should have been able to cash if Won The West had officially been declared the second place finisher.
It's too bad the betting public is the loser in these type of situations.
Consequently, I don't intend to bet on any more harness races.

January 28, 2009 - 7:09 pmmore bad news about

Anonymous SAID...

more bad news about judgement by orc officials. how long did the westernfair affair take? this one should take till next xmas. just brutal, make the call. that's what your payed for. if not, lot's a people looking for work. and to think that this happened in such a big race. real brutal!!!!!!

January 28, 2009 - 4:58 pmWould it not be relatively

Anonymous (not verified) SAID...

Would it not be relatively easy to establish electronically if a horse was off the track, how far off, and for what distance? Then make a new rule as to what is allowed.We are talking big $ on judges' "interpretation"...

January 28, 2009 - 4:07 pmAnother Western Fair call

Anonymous (not verified) SAID...

Another Western Fair call more tickets trashed that would have been cashed by the poor bettor.

January 28, 2009 - 3:47 pm"the left wheel of

hubrail (not verified) SAID...

"the left wheel of Grismore's sulky came into contact with one pylon and then went inside the next pylon."

Bring back the hubrail, we will have no more of these "hitting the pylons, or inside the pylons". They were implemented for safety, if you hit or go inside the pylons, you should be disqualified. End of story!

I wonder what would happen if you hit, went inside or rubbed the rail back in the days.....


view counter
 
 
 

© 2021 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal