Rideau's Night Of Champions Set

Published: August 15, 2011 04:41 pm EDT

On Sunday, August 21, 2011 the National Capital Region Harness Horse Association in association with Rideau Carleton Entertainment Centre will be presenting its fourth annual Night of Champions


There will be numerous fundraising activities during the evening, with all proceeds supporting the Shepherds of Good Hope.

The night will be featuring Memorial races honouring some of the Ottawa Valley's racing pioneers. In addition, there will be three non-betting 'Future Stars' races.

Once again this year, the main event on the card will be the Coville Cup Drivers' Challenge. Ten races will be held featuring up and coming drivers. The driver tournament will showcase young drivers that are trying to further their driving careers, but have yet to drive an abundance of horses.

The tournament drivers are as follows:

Senior Division:

Mike Armstrong
Todd Budd
Maxime Robinson Desjardins
Claude Larose
Matthew McDonald
Andrew Moore
Pierre Luc Roy
Sebastien Turenne
Maxime Velaye

Junior Division:

James Bailey
Ryan Breadner
Jamie Hay
Cody Henry
Krissy Hie
Tom Lindsay
Nicholas Oakes
Clarke Steacy
Jack Waples

An Invitational Inter-provincial Driving Championship has been added this year. The championship will take place over five races.

The drivers for the challenge are as follows:

Team Rideau:

Team Captain: Guy Gagnon
Jacques Beaudoin
Gord Brown
Darrell Coville
Ted McDonald

Team Montreal:

Team Captain: Yves Filion
Gilles Gendron
Stephane Gendron
Denis St. Pierre
Richard Simard