Award Winners Honoured On PEI

Published: December 8, 2011 03:20 pm EST

On Tuesday, December 6, the PEI Harness Racing Industry Association and the Matinee Racetracks held their annual Awards Banquet in the dinning room at Red Shores' Charlottetown Driving Park


The banquet was well attended and included PEI Minister of Finance Wes Sheridan and Minister of Agriculture George Webster.

Sheridan addressed the crowd briefly, emphasizing the importance of the Matinee Program to the health of Island racing, and the excitement matinee graduate Marc Campbell was creating with an O'Brien Award nomination and the possibility of a new driving record for the Island.

Proof of the success of the Matinee Program was in the attendance of so many young people at the banquet, including rookie 12-year-old driver Kyle DesRoche and his 15-year-old brother, Ryan, who is an amateur trainer/driver.


'A' Division Matinee Champion
• Aria Aria, owned by Robert and Jennifer Parsons

'B' Division and Department of Agriculture Champion
• Miller Miller, owned by Robert and Jennifer Parsons

'C' Division Matinee Champion
• Rags To Britches, owned by Rick and Nancy Dunville

Top Class Division Champion
• Camillion, owned by Ivan MacMillan

Amateur Driver of the Year (Tie)
• Brandon Darrach
• Stuart Tremere

Rookie of the Year
• Nick MacGillvary

Junior Rookie of the Year
• Kyle Desroche

Standardbred Canada Owner of the Year
• Mary Jean and Jay Noye, for top points earner Marfas Vineyard

(Matinee Racetrack Development Project)

Have something to say about this? Log in or create an account to post a comment.