view counter
view counter

Freaky Feet Pete Is Freaky Fast

Published: July 26, 2015 12:47 am ET

No Comments | Jump to Comments

After winning the opening round of the 2015 Champion Drivers Series at Hoosier Park Racing & Casino on Saturday, July 25, Trace Tetrick would find the winner’s circle once more on the evening as he guided Freaky Feet Pete to a stunning 1:48.4 score in the $75,000 Indiana Sires Stakes Final for three-year-old pacing colts and geldings.

Freaky Feet Pete extended his win streak to five, established a new lifetime mark, and equalled the track record at Hoosier Park for three-year-old pacing colts in the process. The previous mark of 1:48.4 was established by Always B Miki and Peter Wrenn in Indiana Sires Stakes action in 2014.

Freaky Feet Pete was unhurried off the gate through opening splits of :26.1 and :55, set by Gallipolis and Tyler Smith. Tetrick gave Freaky Feet Pete the green light down the backside and the three-year-old colt quickly took command just past the half.

As the rest of the field struggled to stay within striking distance at the three-quarter-clocking in 1:22.1, it was clear the race belonged to Freaky Feet Pete as he effortlessly opened up on the field with a six length lead turning for home. Freaky Feet Pete used a :26.3 final quarter, under no urging from Tetrick, to overpower his competition by nine lengths

“He’s an amazing animal,” trainer Larry Rheinheimer said of his star pupil. “He amazes me every time he is on the track. We always knew we had a nice colt, but I don’t think any of us dreamed of him being this nice.”

Freaky Feet Pete notched his fourth win from five outings this season with his only defeat coming from Wiggle It Jiggleit in the opening round of the $75,000 Indiana Sires Stakes finals earlier in the season. The homebred son of Rockin Image-Skyway Lori has now won 14 of 16 lifetime outings while amassing $387,100 for his owners Mary Jo Rheinheimer and Marty Rheinheimer.

Earlier, Tetrick took top honours in the 2015 Champion Driver Series and won his share of the $5,000 round one prize. In its second year, the 2015 Champion Driver Series pitted the top 10 drivers at Hoosier Park against one another in a five-race challenge with the 10 coveted spots being based upon wins during the 2015 season.

Tetrick, a 28-year-old Illinois native, earned one win, one second, one third and two off the board finishes during the five-race competition for a total of 39 points to secure the win. LeWayne Miller, last year’s Champion Driver Series winner, finished second with 38 points followed by Sam Widger finishing third with 36 points.

Tetrick kicked things off with a win in the first leg of the challenge behind Pipecreek Yankee for trainer Walter Haynes Jr., earning 15 points. He finished sixth in the next race, but was able to guide Humble Hero to a second-place finish to earn nine points in the third leg of the challenge.

After the fourth race of the series and with just one race left to go, Tetrick was tied for first with Miller at 31 points. Dillander moved into second-place after a win with Endeavors Lady Luck while Ed Hensley had accumulated 29 points for third.

Tetrick was able to clinch the trophy and the lion’s share of the $5,000 prize in the final race by steering Jagger Blue Chip to a third-place finish, earning eight points. Miller secured second-place after a fourth-place finish with Steviescooter while Widger moved into third-place after a decisive win with Major Starlight.

“I was feeling pretty good about the horses I picked coming into tonight,” Tetrick noted after the win. “Luckily, the trips worked out and the horses showed up. A couple of my horses raced really well, a few of the others didn’t, but it all worked out.”

Tetrick currently leads all drivers for the 2015 season at Hoosier Park with 159 victories and over $1.5 million in purse earnings through the first 85 days of live racing. Tetrick recorded his first win at Hoosier Park in 2006 and has been a mainstay atop Hoosier Park’s leader board ever since. In 2008, Tetrick became the youngest driver or jockey to ever win a title at Hoosier Park after garnering 117 victories that season. Tetrick took home the leading driver title in 2014 and also earned a spot in Hoosier Park’s record books once again as he re-established the record for most wins in one season, a record that was previously held by Tony Morgan during the 1998 season with 262 victories.

“This was a lot of fun,” he continued. “We’re always a competitive group and we always have fun with each other, but when you have a challenge like this, it really brings out the competitiveness in all of us. I know it’s something we’ve been looking forward to all week.”

Tetrick will look to defend his title in round two of the Champion Driver Series slated for October 17 at Hoosier Park. While the second go-round will be conducted in the same manner as the first, the winner of the final challenge will be awarded a Hawaiian vacation for four, valued at $15,000.

(With files from Hoosier Park)

view counter

© 2021 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal