view counter
view counter

Field Set For Dream Of Glory Trot


Published: July 24, 2010 11:45 pm ET

No Comments | Jump to Comments

Krakatoa leads the way to the ninth annual Dream Of Glory final after winning the fastest of four $15,300 eliminations on Saturday night at Hanover Raceway.

The first elimination was also the fastest as Angus King (Ross Battin) jumped out to a quick lead from Post 5, hitting the quarter pole in :28.2. Battin kept the lead at the half in :58.2, but Angus King went on a break going to the three-quarter pole, and that allowed favourite Krakatoa, driven by Randy Fritz, to go three-wide down the backstretch and take the lead for good. Krakatoa hit the three-quarter pole in 1:28.2 and finished the mile in 1:59.2 with a two and three-quarter length margin of victory. Carscot Review (Paul Walker) also advanced to the final with his second-place finish. Commander K (Torgeir Hagmann) was third.

Afterwards trainer Gregg McNair said he wasn’t worried when Angus King got a quick five-length lead on the field, because he knew his horse was a solid closer and felt he would come back to the field. McNair added that it felt good to qualify for the $100,000 final, and he hopes his charge has another good trip next week.

Krakatoa, a three-year-old son of Amigo Hall-Pretty Muscles, is owned and bred by Herb and Barb Wells of Bloomingwood Farms near Harriston, ON. The win was his third in nine attempts this year and bumped his seasonal earnings to $46,150.

The second division was won by favourite Northern Spark and trainer-driver Murray Brethour, who led from start to finish with fractions of :30, :59.4, 1:30, and the mile in 2:00.3. Los Cabos (Bruce Richardson) finished four lengths behind in second and Tymal Tyme (Wayne Henry) was third.

Brethour shares ownership of the Angus Hall-Flame Tamer gelding, a winner of three races in nine starts and $33,270 this year, with Noblock Racing Stable and Springwater Stables. Part owner and former NHL great Wayne Carlton said afterwards he drove from Montreal to watch the race, and was happy to see his horse make the final.

The third division saw Ross Battin grab the lead again this time from Post 7, but Berndt Reynolds had broken equipment before the start, and although his entry backed through the field by the three-quarter pole he was refunded to those fans who backed him.

The winner was Anahar Chase, who went three-wide at the third quarter station and sprinted home to score in 2:02 for driver Stuart Sowerby and trainer Mario Rivest. Favourite Ranchest (Paul Walker) followed two lengths behind and and Merlincrest (Bruce Richardson) rounded out the top three.

Anahar Chase, the 2-1 second choice in the field, picked up his third win in 13 starts this year and pushed his earnings over $30,000 for owners Michel Rivest of Lynden, Dennis Rivest of Palgrave and Gary Silliphant of Simcoe, ON.

Dennis Rivest said Anahar Chase had a rough time as a two-year-old, but he impresses him more and more each start. Rivest added the $100,000 final will be his biggest ever race, and he’s happy to be able to take part.

And the final split ended up being a battle of the Walkers, as Larry Walker and 9-1 Bi Barrister edged brother Paul Walker, aboard pacesetter Madencanadamatters, for the win in 2:01.3. Dry Tears (Stuart Sowerby) was third.

Larry trains Bi Barrister for owners and breeders James Howie of Etobicoke and Stephen Malach of North York, ON. The son of Village Barrister-Pacific Hall won for the second time in six 2010 starts and bumped his earnings to $24,800.

Paul Walker had three entries in the Dream Of Glory this year, and all three made it the final. Paul trains MadenCanadamatters for Douglas Millard of Woodstock and Jerry Vanboekel of Bright, ON, and he shares ownership on Carscot Review with Carscot Stables of Listowel, and with Julie Walker of Owen Sound, and Malcolm and Robert Macphail of Dover Centre, ON on Ranchester. Sister Jean Thibideau said she was proud of both of her brothers and felt having four Walker horses in the final should help bring out a good local crowd to cheer on the local favourites.

Dream Of Glory day includes a barbeque starting at 6 p.m., The Red Rascal Band will be playing on the flat rooftop, there will be carriage rides in between races, and a huge fireworks display after the races. Up to 5,000 people are expected to attend Hanover’s biggest race day of the season.

Here is the field for next Saturday's $100,000 Dream Of Glory (final driver changes not yet made):

1. MadenCanadamatters - Paul Walker
2. Krakatoa - Randy Fritz
3. Anahar Chase - Stuart Sowerby
4. Los Cabos - Bruce Richardson
5. Bi Barrister - Larry Walker
6. Carscot Review - Paul Walker
7. Northern Spark - Murray Brethour
8. Ranchester - Paul Walker
AE1. Merlincrest - Bruce Richardson
AE2. Tymal Tyme - Wayne Henry

To view Saturday's results, click here.

(With files from Hanover Raceway)

view counter

© 2020 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal