Western Regional Driving Championship Set For Today

Western Regional Driving Championship
Published: June 19, 2022 11:01 am EDT

The second of four Regional Driving Championships, to determine eight drivers in the National Driving Championship (NDC) and ultimately Canada’s rep to the 2023 World Driving Championship in Italy, is set for today as Century Downs Racetrack & Casino hosts the Western Regional Driving Championship (WRDC).

First race post time for Sunday's card of harness racing is 2:15 p.m. local time or 4:15 p.m. Eastern and the WRDC races are Races 2 through 8 on the card. Eight of Western Canada’s most talented harness racing drivers will compete in this event. 

Due to the number of horses entered to race Sunday, there will be seven competition races instead of eight — four with an eight-horse field and three with a seven-horse field where one driver will sit out. Five (5) points shall be awarded to the driver sitting out.

The field includes:

  • Brandon Campbell (B.C.)
  • Phil Giesbrecht (Alta.)
  • Mike Hennessy (Alta.)
  • Kelly Hoerdt (Alta.)
  • Dave Kelly (Alta.)
  • Scott Knight (B.C.)
  • Glenn Le Drew (Man./Sask.)
  • Rod Therres (B.C.)

To view the entries, click on one of the following links:
Century Downs - Sunday Entries || Program Pages (courtesy TrackIT).

Who do you think will win? Have your say in our latest SC web poll.

Drivers will receive points based on their finishing position and the top two drivers from the nine-race competition will join six other drivers at the 2022 NDC at Century Mile Racetrack in Edmonton, Alta. 

Planning on heading to Century Downs? Enjoy a Father’s Day Buffet before heading to trackside for a special day of harness racing as they host the Regional Driving Championships. 


The Regional Driving Championships and the National Driving Championship will adapt the point system utilized in the World Driving Championship. Points will be awarded on the order of finish as follows:

  • Number of Starters: 9
    16 (1), 11 (2), 8 (3), 6 (4), 5 (5), 4 (6), 3 (7), 2 (8), 1 (9)
  • Number of Starters 8:
    15 (1), 10 (2), 7 (3), 5 (4), 4 (5), 3 (6), 2 (7), 1 (8).
  • Number of Starters 7:
    14 (1), 9 (2), 6 (3), 4 (4), 3 (5), 2 (6), 1 (7).

In the event of a scratch, the driving rep drawn to a horse shall drive the ‘also eligible’ horse.

In the event of a horse being scratched or where no horse is available, five (5) points shall be awarded to the driver concerned. If a horse is disqualified or a horse and driver fail to complete the race, they will receive one (1) point.

In the event of a dead heat for any placing in any race the points for the horses involved will be added together and divided equally among the drivers concerned (eg. If there’s a dead heat for third between two horses, the points for third and fourth place will be added and divided among the drivers).