view counter
view counter

Wynne, Liberals Win Majority

Published: June 12, 2014 10:12 pm ET

No Comments | Jump to Comments

The results are now in, and as they say in horse racing, the results have been made official. The Ontario Liberal Party has won a majority government in Ontario's 2014 Provincial Election.

As of Friday morning, the seat totals were as follows:

  • LIB - 59
  • PC - 27
  • NDP - 21

The difference in seats was between the Liberal Party and the Progressive Conservative Party. When parliament dissolved at the defeat of the budget, the Liberals held 48 seats, the PCs held 37 seats, while the NDP held 21 seats. One seat was vacant.

Voter turnout was reported at about 52.1 per cent.

At approximately 10:50 p.m. during his address to his campaign headquarters, Tim Hudak announced that he would not lead the PC Party into the next provincial election. Hudak was re-elected in his riding of Niagara West-Glanbrook, as was NDP Leader Andrea Horwath in Hamilton Centre and Liberal Leader Kathleen Wynne in Don Valley West.

From the harness racing sector, Anthony MacDonald (PC) finished second to incumbent Liz Sandals (Liberal) in the Guelph riding. Dr. Chris Robson (PC) also was a runner-up to an incumbent, Teresa Armstrong (NDP) in London-Fanshawe.

view counter

© 2021 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal