$4,100 Purchase On A Tear

Published: March 1, 2012 12:36 pm EST

Despite being a third generation horseman, James Atkinson was a heavy equipment operator up until 10 years ago when the lure of his roots became too hard to resist

The 57-year-old native of Jackson, New Jersey now resides on a farm in Georgetown, Delaware, and will send out Connie Lauxmont in Friday’s $44,500 final of the Charles Singer Memorial at the Meadowlands Racetrack. The three-year-old colt by Conway Hall has drawn Post 10 (program No. 7) and has been rated as the 7-2 third choice in the morning line in Race 4.

“My grandfather and father were both in the business, yet I wasn’t,” Atkinson recalled. “When my father passed away several years ago, I got asked to start out as a groom, but I refused at the time. I decided to go to school to be a welder, and then I was a heavy equipment operator. Eventually, I got more interested in the horses again, but I had to get some capital in order to get started. I began with a couple of $10,000 claimers and I had very good luck with them here in Delaware. However, there were some good times and some rough times."

From humble beginnings, Connie Lauxmont blossomed into a New York Sires Stakes contender for Atkinson. “This colt was a $4,100 yearling a friend of mine purchased, and I bought him off my friend for $17,500. I had followed the horse, took him for a test drive and bought him early last spring. We were patient with him as a two-year-old and he got sick a few times. I just didn’t want to push him and he’s come along nicely. He’s eligible for the New York Sires Stakes. He raced in it a bit last year and he’ll do fine again. The key is he’s been doing it now quite easily and you want him to build confidence.”