view counter
view counter

Legislature Honours Wiggle It Jiggleit

Published: January 27, 2016 12:28 pm ET

No Comments | Jump to Comments

The Delaware Legislature paid tribute to 2015 U.S. Standardbred Horse of the Year Wiggle It Jiggleit Tuesday afternoon (January 26) with ceremonies in the House of Representatives and Senate.

Wiggle It Jiggleit’s owner, George Teague Jr., of Harrington, and trainer Clyde Francis, of Houston, were joined by the gelding’s driver, Montrell Teague, of Harrington, and groom, Mike Taylor, of Harrington. The festivities started on a capacity-filled Senate floor where legislators and visitors watched a replay of the 2015 Little Brown Jug from Delaware, Ohio – which is widely recognized as one of the most memorable races of all-time – that resulted in a victory for the ages. Many of the legislators were awe-stricken by the remarkable race and vocalized their congratulations and pride in having a Delaware horse gain national acclaim and subsequent attention and exposure across North America.

A tribute was read and presented by Senators Gary Simpson and Patricia Blevins, noting the many accomplishments of Wiggle It Jiggleit, that included 22 victories and more than $2 million earned in a historic season.

The Teague crew then immediately went to the House chamber and was introduced by Representative Bobby Outten and Dan Short, who honoured the connections of Wiggle It Jiggleit. Owner George Teague Jr. expressed his gratitude at the podium on the House floor.

“This is truly an honour,” said Teague, who also trained the 2004 U.S. Horse of the Year, Rainbow Blue. “We got extremely lucky to have a horse like this and it’s been a fun ride. We appreciate the recognition.”

Teague and crew then visited the Honorable Governor Jack Markell’s office and were met with congratulations by the Governor.

Wiggle It Jiggleit is expected to return to racing in the spring of 2016 and will receive his U.S. Horse of the Year honours at the United States Harness Writers Association’s Dan Patch Awards Banquet on March 6 in Orlando, Fl. Delaware will be well represented, as there will be four awards given to residents of ‘The First State.’ In addition to the Horse of the Year feat, owner George Teague Jr. was voted 2015 Owner of the Year, driver Montrell Teague was named Rising Star, and Jo Ann Looney-King, of Harrington will receive the William Haughton Memorial Good Guy Award.

(Harrington Raceway)



view counter

© 2021 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal