2,000 For Bolon; Bessie Is Best

Published: January 12, 2016 10:32 pm EST

Rod Bolon notched career driving win 2,000 when he piloted Bloomington -- a horse he trains -- to victory in Tuesday’s second race at The Meadows.

Bolon also has collected 644 training victories (since 1991 when the United States Trotting Association began compiling trainers’ records) in a career that began after he graduated from high school in Jerusalem, Ohio.

“I came to The Meadows the day after I graduated, and I’ve been here ever since,” he said. “I’ve been around forever, so it’s nice to reach 2,000. I’m not into career numbers, but it’s good.”

He learned the business from his father, trainer/driver Paul Bolon, who campaigned horses primarily at The Meadows and Northfield Park, and his older brother, Ben Bolon, a successful driver at The Meadows for several decades. With that introduction to the sport, there was little doubt about his career choice.

“It’s all I’ve ever done, and it’s all I’ve ever wanted to do,” he said.

With the support of his principal owner through the years, Jim Snyder, Bolon built his stable by purchasing stakes veterans after their three-year-old campaigns. Among the many horses he’s trained and driven, Bolon cited the trotter Durgin Hanover ($386,902) and the pacer Real Hanover as his favourites. Although Real Hanover earned a chunk of his $478,983 at The Meadows, he sparkled in his handful of starts each year in Lexington.

“He was slow leaving the gate,” Bolon said, “but he loved that long stretch at the Red Mile.”

The Meadows-based trainer Julie Allison helped Real Hanover prepare for a new career after his racing days ended, and he was placed as a riding horse through New Vocations Racehorse Adoption Program.