view counter
view counter

Post Time with Dan Gall

Post Time

In this month’s edition of Post Time I would like to take time to recognize the several Standardbred Canada Directors whose terms have come to an end.

On behalf of the Board, management, employees and our members, I would like to thank each and everyone for their amazing contribution, dedication, commitment and leadership to the Standardbred Canada Board.

Diane Bertrand, Western Region, Breeder Director; Diane has been involved leading the Breeders Committee, being an integral part of the Executive committee, and has been a wonderful support to Standardbred Canada.

Joanne Colville, Ontario Region, Breeder Director; As past Chair and a Board member who has been an outspoken, honest and full participant in all our meetings, and who has worked tirelessly for the betterment of Standardbred Canada and the horse racing industry.

Darren Crowe, Atlantic Region, Active Director; We would like to thank Darren for his service on the board. Darren sits on the O’Brien/Cam Fella committee as well as the Bylaws/Regulations committee and assisted in the several amendments to By-Laws 1 & 2 that went to vote to members in October. The amendments are now seeking approval from the ministry of Agriculture & Agri-food Canada.

Mark Horner, Ontario Region, Active Director; As the present Chair, Mark has been excellent at helping move projects along by providing support and confidence to management and staff. One of the first tasks Mark did was attend an All Employee Meeting to meet with staff and answer their questions and build relationships within Standardbred Canada and industry. He has had a calm and assuring confidence in our initiatives and was there to lend a hand wherever possible. So a huge thanks to Mark for his leadership and support. He will be missed.

Kent Oakes, Atlantic Region, Track Director; Also a past Chair of Standardbred Canada, who served the association well by providing the Board with strong guidance, leadership, and a practical common sense approach to governance and committee leadership.

Bill O’Donnell, Ontario Region, Active Director; The Magic Man, Hall of Famer, and President of COSA is one who always speaks his mind no matter the audience. His brash ideas and opinion have sparked conversation and debate with regard to the overall direction and future vision of the association.

Dr. Maurice Stewart, Western Region, Active Director; Mo has been a strong advocate for the need of a national government relations presence for our breed. His insight on overall governance and board structure was instrumental in my quick education regarding the association and I thank him for his honesty and his ability to ask the questions that were important to protect the association overall.

Alain Veilleux – Quebec Region, Director; Alain is one of the longest running Directors who has supported Standardbred Canada through thick and thin. He is a first class gentleman who I have been honoured to work with. Words cannot describe Mr. Veilleux’s dedication to Standardbred Canada, nor can we thank him enough for his years of service and commitment.

Last but not least, Jackson Wittup, Western Region, Track Director; Jackson has served as past Chair and Vice Chair and whose term has not yet expired but who has opted to take a step back to let others serve on the board and also to enjoy his recently announced retirement from Century Downs.

To all our outgoing Directors; Thank you very much for supporting all the changes that have been made over the years and helping steer and lead this national organization of over 6,000 members through the good times and the turbulent times.

Your efforts do not and will not go unnoticed.

And now… a very warm welcome to the new Directors joining the board.

This election has been one of the most watched and talked about elections that Standardbred Canada has had in recent memory.

We thank each and every one who entered as nominees and would also like to congratulate the new Directors who were elected by our members to represent the interests of the breeder, active and track members for the association.

Congratulations to:

From the Western Region: Blair Corbeil, Heather Davies, Paul Ryneveld.

From Ontario: Gerry Belore, Blair Burgess, Ian Fleming, Bill McLinchey, Ann Straatman, Jim Whelan.

From Quebec: Denitza Petrova, Murielle Thomassin, Richard Veilleux.

From the Atlantic: Lee Drake, Andrea Rennison, Tony Zeuthoff.

The above represents an approximately 60% change in the complexion of the Board, which means fresh blood and new ideas to the overall governance of the association.

On behalf of Standardbred Canada we are excited to work with our new board to assist in furthering the 5 year Strategic Plan that has been set by the past Board for the organization.

And, finally, a note of thanks to all members who participated in the election. We recorded a 22% voter turnout (the highest turnout that we have had in recent memory) which speaks to the importance our members put on having a strong and stable association going forward.

Dan Gall, President & CEO, Standardbred Canada
[email protected]

view counter

© 2021 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal