view counter
view counter

Commission Rules On Three Appeals

Published: May 27, 2015 11:17 am ET

No Comments | Jump to Comments

On Wednesday, May 27, the Ontario Racing Commission released its rulings in regard to appeals by Colin Johnson, Mike Stoikopoulos, and Carolyn Jarrell and Jonathan Drury.

In regard to Colin Johnson, on March 2, 2015, the ORC judges at Woodbine Racetrack denied trainer transfer applications for six racehorses. Johnson appealed against the decision.

According to the ORC ruling, the issue in the Johnson situation was whether the judges had the power and authority to deny the trainer transfer applications pursuant to Rule 26.08 of the Rules of Standardbred Racing, given the circumstances surrounding the situation. The ORC has ruled that, in the Johnson circumstance, the judges did not have the power or authority to deny the transfer applications.

The ORC allowed Johnson’s appeal and the denials of the trainer transfer applications have now been set aside. The ORC also ruled that, if Johnson requests, the trainer transfer applications will be approved for the following horses: Mo Molly Blue Chip, Ainsley Noelle, Captive Audience, Freddie, Ill Stay Here, Moonwriter.

To read the ORC’s reasons for decision, view an official copy of the ruling by clicking here.

In regard to Mike Stoikopoulos, he was appealing against Ruling Number SB 44257 for violation of Rule 22.09 of the Rules of Standardbred Racing. The ORC denied his appeal. To view an official copy of the ruling, click here.

In regard to Carolyn Jarrell and Jonathan Drury, they were appealing against Rulings Number SB 45899 and SB 45898, respectively, for violation of Rule 18.08.02 (c) of the Rules of Standardbred Racing. The ORC denied the appeal. To view an official copy of the ruling, click here.

(With files from the ORC)

view counter

© 2020 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal