SC Accepting Submissions For O’Brien Award Of Horsemanship 

Call for O'Brien Award of Horsemanship submissions
Published: November 16, 2022 02:00 pm EST

Standardbred Canada (SC) invites members and associations to make submissions for the 2022 O’Brien Award of Horsemanship.

Last year, SC’s Board of Directors announced changes to the criteria for the O’Brien Award of Horsemanship which are listed below.

This award was introduced to recognize the Standardbred participant who best exemplifies the standard of horsemanship demonstrated by Joe O’Brien, and formerly the criteria specified that eligible candidates had to be trainer-drivers.

New Criteria:

The O’Brien Award of Horsemanship recognizes a trainer who exemplifies the high standard of horsemanship that was demonstrated by Joe O’Brien during his career, including the outstanding care and training of Standardbreds, respect for the horse, a commitment to equine welfare and success in the development and training of young horses.

Canadian-based horsepeople will be evaluated on criteria which focuses on the development and performance of young horses within their care, for the given year. While the award will be open to both large and small operations, the focus of this award is on the hands-on horseperson who is able to achieve success within their racing jurisdiction, and possibly beyond.

Criteria for evaluation includes integrity, professionalism, and a commitment to putting the welfare of horses first. Other measures for evaluation include performance ratings, stakes wins as a percentage of overall starts, and race lines that indicate signs of development and maturity.

Submissions for the O’Brien Award of Horsemanship are due by noon (EST) on Monday, Nov. 28 to be considered for this year. Submissions should be emailed to Hailey Saunders, Program Coordinator, at [email protected].

Click here for the application form.

The Nominating Committee will review all submissions in addition to other candidates that meet the criteria, to determine the three candidates on the ballot for the O’Brien Award of Horsemanship.