Fields Set For Jim Ewart And Charlie Hill Memorials

Harness racing Scioto Downs
Published: September 5, 2023 05:22 pm EDT

The fields are set for the $260,000 Jim Ewart Memorial Pace and $250,000 Charlie Hill Memorial Trot, which will be held on Ohio Super Night this Saturday, Sept. 9 at Scioto Downs.

Beach Glass (Post 9) is set to make his highly-anticipated return to racing in the Ewart for trainer Brent MacGrath and will face the likes of Canadian Pacing Derby winner Tattoo Artist (Post 6) and reigning Ewart champion Charlie May (Post 10).

The field for the Hill includes Armbro Flight Stakes champion mare Refined (Post 8) for trainer Virgil Morgan Jr., taking on 2022 Hambletonian winner Cool Papa Bell (Post 7) and fellow millionaire trotter Jujubee (Post 2), along with Lovedbythemasses (Post 9) and Kings County (Post 10), both top three finishers in last year's Hill.

The complete fields for the Ewart and Hill are listed below in post position order as revealed at Tuesday's live draw. The open events will headline Saturday night’s 18-race program along with eight $400,000 Ohio Sires Stakes championships, marking the richest card in Ohio horse racing history with a total of $3.7 million in purses up for grabs. There will be a special early post time of 5 p.m. for Saturday's card.

$260,000 Jim Ewart Memorial Pace
Post - Horse - Driver - Trainer
1. Lous Pearlman - Chris Page - Ron Burke
2. Sectionline Bigry - Brett Miller - Steve Bauder
3. Chase H Hanover - Tony Hall - Virgil Morgan Jr.
4. Backstreet Shadow - Tim Tetrick - Travis Alexander 
5. Little Rocket Man - Jeremy Smith - Ken Rucker
6. Tattoo Artist - Louis-Philippe Roy - Dr. Ian Moore
7. Fourever Boy - Aaron Merriman - Tim Twaddle
8. Hellabalou - Ronnie Wrenn Jr. - Ron Burke
9. Beach Glass - Yannick Gingras - Brent MacGrath
10. Charlie May - Brett Miller - Steve Carter
AE1. South Beach Star
AE2. Makin Some Noise

$250,000 Charlie Hill Memorial Trot
Post - Horse - Driver - Trainer
1. Smoking Jet - Chris Page - Ron Burke
2. Jujubee - Andrew McCarthy - Greg Wright Jr.
3. Pretender - Dexter Dunn - Nancy Takter
4. Its A Herbie - Verlin Yoder - Verlin Yoder
5. Kildare King - Tim Tetrick - Chris Beaver
6. Incommunicado - Yannick Gingras - Ake Svanstedt
7. Cool Papa Bell - Todd McCarthy - Jim Campbell
8. Refined - Tyler Smith - Virgil Morgan Jr.
9. Lovedbythemasses - Todd McCarthy - Jeff Cullipher
[10. Kings County - Brett Miller - Stacey Van Huizen
AE1. Caviar Gold 
AE2. Lexus Kody



Every September Saturday night for the past several years, Mohawk has presented the best racecard in North America, but I think Scioto has Mohawk beat this week. There's no race on the card (and there are 18 of them) with a purse less than $100,000, and in the co-feature, Tattoo Artist, Charlie May, and Beach Glass will square off against each other in The Ewart.

Have something to say about this? Log in or create an account to post a comment.