2023 SOANY Scholarship Winners Announced

SOA of NY logo
Published: July 7, 2023 01:45 pm EDT

Alexandra Glasser, Liam Keppler and Macy Clark are the 2023 Standardbred Owners Association of New York / Yonkers Raceway John R. Brennan Scholarship Award winners.

Sandra Kaufman, Chairman of the SOA of NY John R. Brennan Scholarship Committee has announced that Alexandra Glasser is the first-place winner of the 2023 Scholarship Award in the amount of $10,000, Liam Keppler is the second-place winner in the amount of $5,000 and Macy Clark is the third-place winner in the amount of $3,000. Joseph Faraldo, President of the SOA of NY commented the award winners are the recipients of a scholarship award named after a longtime good friend, horse trainer and SOA of NY field representative, John R. Brennan.

Alexandra Glasser is currently attending Northeastern University in Boston, Massachusetts pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration and Mathematics. Her father, David, has been an amateur driver since 1982, owned racehorses since 1983 and trained horses in 2014 and 2015.

Liam Keppler is currently attending Pennsylvania State University in University Park, Pennsylvania pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Biology and a Minor in Psychology. His father, Scott, has been an amateur driver since 1983 and has owned racehorses since 1985.

Macy Clark will be attending the University of South Carolina in Columbia, South Carolina this fall and will be pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Exercise Science. Her father, Brian, has owned racehorses since 2016.

The annual SOA of NY / Yonkers Raceway John R. Brennan scholarships are awarded to SOA members, members of their immediate families, covered individuals (backstretch personnel) or a member of their immediate families for studies beyond the high school level. The recipient is chosen based on merit and financial need. The applicants were judged first by an independent third party to produce the top five candidates. Then the Scholarship Committee selected the top three winners from the five finalists. Personal information from all the candidates was redacted when presented to the independent party and the Scholarship Committee to assure a blind judging process.