view counter
view counter

Jamieson, Baillargeon Take Woodbine Titles

Published: April 28, 2009 11:03 am ET

No Comments | Jump to Comments

Jody Jamieson used a torrid five-week stretch in which he won 36 races in 20 days to capture the drivers title at the 2009 Woodbine Winter-Spring meet, which concluded Monday night.

The 32-year-old resident of Cambridge had 94 wins overall to edge Randy Waples by six (88 wins). Mike Saftic was third with 69 tallies.

Jamieson came off a 2008 season in which he topped the WEG driver standings for the first time with 282 wins.

Benoit Baillargeon was all alone at the top of the trainer's table with 58 wins during the 74-day meet, 27 clear of nearest Richard Moreau (31 wins). Casie Coleman was third with 28 scores.

Baillargeon also led the WEG circuit in 2008, sharing that title with Rob Fellows at 95 wins.

Twenty stakes finals were raced during the Woodbine meet, including the Spring Pacing Championship (won by Ramegade Bruiser), Cam Fella Pacing Series (Anderlecht), Don Mills Trotting Series (Afternoon Dreams) and the Glorys Comet Trotting Series (Please Poppy).

"We had a good meet at Woodbine from a wagering perspective given the various economic factors and despite the less-than-ideal racing weather we had in the Toronto area over that last few months," said Bruce Murray, WEG vice president of Standardbred
Racing. "We're now looking forward to the next five-plus months at Mohawk."

The 115-day Mohawk meet begins this Thursday evening, April 30 and concludes October 5.


view counter

© 2021 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal