view counter
view counter

More Honours For Intimidate

Published: March 29, 2015 9:48 am ET

No Comments | Jump to Comments

O'Brien Award winning trotter Intimidate was also named the Canadian Bred Horse of the Year at the 2014 Equine Canada Awards Gala held on Friday, March 27 at the Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa in Gatineau, Que.

Held in conjunction with the Equine Canada Convention (March 25-29), the national awards gala celebrates outstanding achievements within the equestrian community.

"We're delighted to be able to recognize this phenomenal group of individuals, organizations and horses," said Equine Canada President, Al Patterson. "This year's recipients are true ambassadors of the sport, both here at home and abroad. Congratulations to all of the 2014 winners and thank you for your service and dedication."

The Canadian Bred Horse of the Year award is presented to a Canadian bred horse that by virtue of an outstanding national or international performance or competition record has enhanced the reputation and visibility of Canadian bred horses.

Bred by Judith Farrow of Hemmingford, Que. and Luc Blais of Lochaber Ouest, Que., the bay Standardbred gelding by Justice Hall has become known as one of the most exciting and dynamic trotters of this generation.

In 2014, Intimidate won five of his 14 starts, earning more than $655,000. His crowning achievement came in July when, on home soil, he upset greats Sebastian K and Market Share to win the $603,000 Maple Leaf Trot at Mohawk Racetrack in Campbellville, Ont. He closed out the season in November with another impressive victory, using his patented closing kick to come from behind, impressively moving up from eighth-place to earn the win in the $500,000 TVG Final at The Meadowlands in East Rutherford, New Jersey.

Previously honoured as the 2014 Older Trotting Horse of the Year at the O'Brien Awards in February, Intimidate is co-owned by Farrow and Determination Stable, located in Westmount, Que., and trained by Blais. He is the second Standardbred to win the award, which was added in 2011 when San Pail was honoured.

The following award recipients were also recognized for their outstanding dedication, talent and enthusiasm in support of equestrianism in Canada:


Volunteer of the Year - Dr. Mary Bell
Lifetime Achievement Award - Mary Anne Laframboise
Equestrian of the Year - Lauren Barwick
Junior Equestrian of the Year - Natalie Alves
Canadian Breeder of the Year - Charlotte Schickedanz
Canadian Bred Horse of the Year - Intimidate
Boeringer Ingleheim Equine Canada Health and Welfare Award - Galahad-Association Quebecoise de protection des chevaux


Equine Canada/NCCP Competitive Coach of the Year - Roberta Byng-Morris
Equine Canada/NCCP Community Coach of the Year - Katelynn Marshall
Equine Canada/NCCP Coach Developer Award for Program Delivery - Danielle Yaghijdan
Equine Canada/NCCP Coach Developer Award for Program Development - Mary-Clare McLaren


Welsh Pony of the Year - Barkway Topaz
Morgan Horse of the Year - HSH Smooth Operator
Arabian Horse of the Year - Sur Teddy's Magna +++//
Half Arabian Horse of the Year - Sweet and Saucy

(With files from Equine Canada)

view counter

© 2021 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal