view counter
view counter

Tetrick To Represent U.S.A.

Published: December 11, 2014 10:15 am ET

No Comments | Jump to Comments

Tim Tetrick, who has led North American harness racing in driver earnings for the past seven years in a row, will represent the United States in the 2015 World Driving Championship in New South Wales, Australia, from February 21 through March 1.

It will be Tetrick’s first appearance in the WDC.

“It’s an honour; hopefully I can make America proud and do a good job,” said Tetrick. “I’ve never been to Australia before, so I’m definitely looking forward to that as well.

“I’m sure I’ll talk to some people before I go, but I’m just going to go about it the way I usually go about my business,” added Tetrick. “I’m going to do my homework, have an open mind, try to do a good job -- and hopefully have a lot of fun doing it. I’m excited. I’m really looking forward to it.”

Conducted since 1970, the World Driving Championship will bring together 10 of the world’s best harness drivers to compete in 20 races at six different racetracks in Australia.

“I've known Tim ever since he started driving and we couldn't have a better representative for this event,” said USTA President Phil Langley. “He is very good with both the media and the public and I know the Australians were very eager for him to compete.”

Nine of those 10 drivers have been named by their countries. In addition to Tetrick, the 2015 WDC drivers will be defending champion Pierre Vercruysse (France); Jody Jamieson (Canada); Knud Monster (Denmark); Tony le Beller (France); Hugo Langeweg Jr. (Netherlands); Dexter Dunn (New Zealand); Vidar Hop (Norway); and Bjorn Goop (Sweden). Only the host country has yet to name its representative.

Norwegian driver Ulf Thoresen is the all-time leader with four championships (1973, 1977, 1979, 1981). With two victories each, German Heinz Wewering (1993, 1997) and Canadian Jody Jamieson (2001, 2011) are the only other drivers to win multiple championships.

Following is the schedule for the 2015 World Driving Championship in Australia:

Saturday (Feb. 21) – Menangle (2 races)
Sunday (Feb. 22) – Newcastle (3 races)
Monday (Feb. 23) – Goulburn (3 races)
Tuesday (Feb. 24) – Wagga (4 races)
Wednesday (Feb. 25) – Bathhurst (4 races)
Thursday (Feb. 26) – Penrith (3 races)
Sunday (March 1; Inter Dominion Grand Final Day) – Menangle – (1 race)

view counter

© 2020 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal