view counter
view counter

Miller Inducted Into Ohio Hall


Published: January 18, 2010 10:34 pm ET

No Comments | Jump to Comments

One of the sport's top reinsmen, David Miller was enshrined as the 36th inductee into the Ohio Harness Racing Hall of Fame on Saturday, January 16 at the Ohio Harness Horsemen's Association banquet.

The Columbus, Ohio native dominated Ohio racing during the 1990s, winning the Scioto Downs dash crown for eight consecutive seasons (1991-98) and captured the Jerry Kaltenbach Memorial Award, presented annually to the leading driver in the Ohio Sire Stakes, for seven straight years from 1992-98.

Miller was introduced and presented the award by Dean Hoffman, President of the Ohio Chapter of the United States Harness Writers Association.

The normally soft spoken Miller was emotional in his acceptance speech. "I am very proud and very humbled," noted Miller. "It's nice to know what you think of me. I'm very touched."

In their other awards, the Ohio Chapter of the USHWA enshrined Byron D. Kuth, a prominent breeder and owner, into the Hall's Immortal section. Crystas Best and Majestic Osborne were introduced as the newest horse members of the Ohio Hall of Fame.

Senena Esty of Spring Haven Farm received the Rambling Willie Award for two decades of service to Ohio harness racing. Chris Page was honoured as the recipient of the Peter Haughton Memorial as a young Ohioan who is an "up and coming" star among harness horsemen. James "Bill" Dailey was given the Winner's Circle Award for his performance in 2009.

view counter

© 2021 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal