Woodstock Hosts 50th Awards Night

Published: May 4, 2014 10:23 pm EDT

The Woodstock & District Trotting Association held its 50th annual banquet and awards night Saturday evening at the CAW Hall in Woodstock.

Horses owned and trained within Oxford County - that were winners of over $20,000 in 2013 - were honoured for their efforts on the racetrack, with the winning connections receiving individual awards.

The winners were:

- Boomboom Ballykeel (p, 1:50.4, $389,702) ow/br Ballykeel Racing for Cam McKnight.
- Greystone Ladylike (p, 1:50.1, $173,940) for James & Jean Caddey.
- Slip Into Glide (t, 1:52.2, $80,500) for Craig Turner and Ben Baillargeon.
- Dreamfair Eclipse (p, 1:54.3, $74,535) for John Lamers.
- Zorgwijk Nova (t, 1:55.2, $52,558) for Ronnie MacLean.
- Rival Seelster (t, 2:00.1, $50,725) for Natasha House.
- Lady Latte (p, 1:55.1, $49,297) for Mhairi Kersel.
- Twin B J J (p, 1:57, $31,350) for Twinbrook Limited.
- Shellace (p, 1:55.1, $24,561) for Donald Douglas.
- Loose Change Lucy (t, 2:01.3, $24,127) for Ron Thomson and George Cuthbert.
- Royal Cover Up (p, 1:55.4, $23,163) for Donald and Brian Hodgson.
- Wiskywisky Nancy O (p, 1:57, $21,086) for Jean & James Caddey along with Alana & Dylan Belore.
- Sonny Vale (t, 1:59, $20,645) for Patricia Duncan and Colleen Belore.

The Standardbred Canada Award for 'Owner Of The Year' went to Cam McKnight For Ballykeel Racing. Gerry Belore made the presentation and shared a few words from the podium on McKnight.

Head Table Guests Included Brent & Colleen Belore, Ken & Carol Mogk and Jerry & Thea Van Boekel. The event was emceed by Shannon 'Sugar' Doyle.

OHHA’s President Ken Hardy and General Manager Brian Tropea were also on hand with Tropea taking a moment at the podium.

Special thanks to the banquet organizers - Woodstock Trotting Club President Jerry Van Boekel and Treasurer Ken Mogk.