2021 Elitloppet Eliminations Drawn

Published: May 24, 2021 11:56 am EDT

The fields are set for the 2021 Elitloppet, which Solvalla Racecourse will contest on Sunday, May 30.

Last year's edition of the Elitloppet was contested in front of no spectators due to the coronavirus pandemic. This year, the famed race will again go without spectators, however the track will be opening select restaurant areas the weekend of the event.

“It goes without saying that we comply strictly with all existing rules and guidelines, which entails a lot of planning work for us and changes for our guests too," said Jörgen Forsberg, CEO of Solvalla. “We plan to open only certain sections of Solvalla’s restaurants in order to make people’s visits as safe and secure as possible.”

Dining restrictions at the track allows only four people within a space at a time and for all restaurants to close by 8:30 p.m. (CEST). The track has otherwise reopened as a workspace, meaning employees are permitted on track but the spectator areas remain closed.

Travel restrictions with the pandemic have lightened the International flair of the event, though several countries remain well represented in the invitational race. A local contingent of Swedish horses compete with others that have roots in Italy, Norway, France, the Netherlands, and the U.S.

Below are the fields for the elimination heats of the Elitloppet, with the top four from each advancing to the second-heat final later in the afternoon.

'Blue' Heat
(Post - Horse - Listed Driver)
1 - Cokstile - Vencenzo Gallo
2 - Heavy Sound - Kenneth Haugstad
3 - Seismic Wave - Claes Sjöström
4 - Gelati Cut - Gabriele Gelormini
5 - Gareth Boko - Mats Djuse
6 - Ecurie D. - Ulf Ohlsson
7 - Click Bait - Per Lennartsson
8 - Very Kronos - Erik Adielsson

'Green' Heat
(Post - Horse - Listed Driver)
1 - Vivid Wise As - Alessandro Gocciadoro
2 - Moni Viking - Björn Goop
3 - Milliondollarrhyme - Fredrik Larsson
4 - Aetos Kronos - Magnus Djuse
5 - Hickothepooh - Vidar Hop
6 - Bahia Quesnot - Junior Guelpa
7 - Cyber Lane - Johan Untersteiner
8 - Don Fanucci Zet - Örjan Kihlström

Have something to say about this? Log in or create an account to post a comment.