view counter
view counter

2018 O'Brien Awards Coverage

Published: February 2, 2019 5:00 pm ET

Last Comment: February 2, 2019 10:48 pm ET | 1 Comment(s) | Jump to Comments

The 30th edition of the O’Brien Awards, celebrating and honouring the best in Canadian harness racing, took place Saturday, February 2 at the Hilton Mississauga / Meadowvale Hotel in Mississauga, Ontario.

Relive the festivities via the below video coverage of the event.


Red Carpet Pre-Show


Red Carpet Wrap-Up

The who’s who of the harness racing were on hand to receive their coveted O’Brien bronzes. The awards are named in honour of the late Joe O’Brien, a trainer-driver from Prince Edward Island who was highly regarded and a member of the Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame.

Eighteen O'Brien Awards were given out for the 2018 harness racing season. Thirteen of these honour the premier horses over the past racing season including the most coveted trophy, Canada's Horse of the Year. The horse awards are divided by age, sex and gait. There were two finalists in all of the categories.

In addition there are five people awards, one each for Driver of the Year, Trainer of the Year, Armstrong Bros. Farm Breeder of the Year, the O'Brien Award of Horsemanship, and Future Star. In addition, three Media Excellence Awards and an award for Outstanding Groom were doled out.

Standardbred Canada extends their congratulations to all of the evening’s finalists!

February 2, 2019 - 10:48 pmCongratulations to all the

Congratulations to all the winners

view counter

© 2020 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal