view counter
view counter

Matinee Challenge Series Awards Winners


Published: December 9, 2010 11:19 am ET

No Comments | Jump to Comments

Red Shores at Charlottetown Driving Park was the venue for the annual PEI Harness Racing Industry Association and Matinee Racetrack Dinner and Awards Banquet on Tuesday, December 7.

Awards were won by the top point earners, both human and horse, in the 2010 Challenge Series at the five matinee tracks across the Island. The Honourable Wes Sheridan, Minister of Finance, was on hand to present the trophies to the winners.

Scott MacPhail of Montague received the Sportsman of the Year Award for his long, meritorious service to the matinee program. Since the program's inception, he has worked tirelessly towards promotion, infrastructure upgrades and youth involvement.

Top points drivers in the Challenge Series this summer confirms the value of the program to attract youth, as Amateur Driver of the Year went to 21-year-old Devon Wallace of Alberton, Driver Under 21 Division was won by 18-year-old Brandon Darrach of O'Leary, and the Rookie of the Year (Driver) was 12-year-old Ryan DesRoche of O'Leary.

The Challenge Series at the matinee tracks are unique to Prince Edward Island, a series of races held as they would have been in our great-grandfather's day, without the licensing or strict regulations of modern racing.

More information can be found at

The 2010 Matinee Challenge Series winners are:

Owner of the Year
• Robert Parsons for Miller Miller

Amateur Driver Of The Year
• Devon Wallace

Driver Of The Year, Under 21
• Brandon Darrach

Rookie Of The Year
• Ryan DesRoche

Sportsman Of The Year
• Scott MacPhail

'A' Division Champion
• Sammys Luck

'B' Division Champion
• Stracor

'C' Division and 2010 Matinee Champion
• Glengyle Cody

(Matinee Racetrack Development Project)

view counter

© 2021 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal