view counter
view counter

Railbird Voting Ends Thursday

Published: December 28, 2015 7:56 pm ET

No Comments | Jump to Comments

Thursday (Dec. 31) is the deadline for fans to cast their ballots in the 2015 Railbird Recognition fan vote for Horseperson of the Year.

The vote that gives the fans of racing the opportunity to voice their opinion is sponsored by the United States Harness Writers Association, in conjunction with the United States Trotting Association.

Voting is available by clicking on the “Railbird Voting” banner on the USTA homepage ( The nominees for each award were compiled by members of USHWA for being the most impactful to the sport in 2015. Fans can make their selections by clicking one choice from those listed and then submitting their vote.

Votes for the Horseperson of the Year will be taken until Thursday (Dec. 31) at midnight. Fans may only vote once per IP address.

The 10 nominees for horseperson of 2015 are:

- Joe Bellino for his behind the scenes benevolence for people in the industry.
- Grant Boudreau for organizing an annual military memorial race that is simulcast to overseas troops.
- Brian Brown for having a career-best year on the Grand Circuit.
- Ron Burke for going over the $20 million mark three straight years.
- Breana Carsey for donating winnings from MJB Got Faith to those in need.
- Joe Faraldo for helping to bring back the International Trot.
- Joann Looney-King for her outstanding year with Wakizashi Hanover.
- Dr. Ian Moore for his outstanding year with State Treasurer.
- Jimmy Takter for his unprecedented performance in the Breeders Crown.
- Montrell Teague for his handling of Wiggle It Jiggleit in 2015.

All the winners of the Railbird fan voting (both racing moment and horseperson) will be announced on Thursday, Jan. 7 and they will be presented their awards during the Dan Patch Banquet, held this year at the Hyatt Pier 66 in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida on Sunday, March 6, 2016. Information on tickets and accommodations for that event can be found at

(With files from USHWA)

view counter

© 2021 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal