view counter
view counter

Podcast Award Nominees Announced

Published: December 23, 2015 9:10 pm ET

No Comments | Jump to Comments

The 2015 Post Time with Mike and Mike Award nominees have been announced.

There are six award divisions this year and they consist of Race Call of the Year, Iron Horse of the Year, Small Stable of the Year, Horsewoman of the Year, Race Fan of the Year, and Upset of the Year. All of the nominations were presented by fans of the sport and voting will take place the same way. The nominations for each category are listed below and can be voted on by clicking here.

Race Call of the Year:
- Ken Middleton’s call of the Two-Year-Old Colt and Gelding Pace at Mohawk Racetrack, won by Boston Red Rocks.
- Sam McKee’s call of the 2015 Valley Victory at The Meadowlands, which resulted in a dead heat.
- James Witherite’s call of the 2015 Empire Breeders’ Classic at Tioga Downs, which was upset by Rockin In Heaven.
- Ayers Ratliff’s call of the 2015 Battle of Lake Erie at Northfield Park, won by Foiled Again, making him the first horse to win the race three times.
- Pete Medhurst’s call of Jada Queen, at Rosecroft Raceway, who won at odds of 374-1.
- Roger Huston’s call of the 2015 Little Brown Jug, where Wiggle It Jiggleit battled Lost For Words and pulled off the victory.
- Ken Warkentin’s call of the 2015 Cane Pace at the Meadowlands Racetrack, where Dealt A Winner defeated Wiggle It Jiggleit after a very hot pace.

Iron Horse of the Year:
- Casanova Lindy, trained by Nick Surick
- Albert Chief A, trained by Kathleen Brewer
- My Fella, trained by Alexandra Berube
- Move On, trained by Brandi Somerville
- Activator, trained by C. Brian Loney

Small Stable of the Year:
- Mickey and Cheryl McGivern
- Joann Looney-King
- Larry Rheinheimer
- James Clouser Jr.
- JD Perrin
- Dr. Ian Moore

Horsewoman of the Year:
- Emily Gaskin
- Joann Looney-King
- Hannah Miller
- Vicky Desomer
- Maria Rice

Race Fan of the Year:
- Tom Dubrick
- “The Manager”
- Steve/Charlie Conway
- Ted Barcus
- Albert Nash

Upset of the Year:
- Wakizashi Hanover defeating Wiggle It Jiggleit in the 2015 Pepsi North America Cup.
- Dealt A Winner defeating Wiggle It Jiggleit in the 2015 Cane Pace.
- Jada Queen winning at Rosecroft Raceway at odds of 374-1.
- Rockin In Heaven winning the Empire Breeders’ Classic at Tioga Downs.
- Hemi Seelster winning the Goodtimes Trot at Mohawk Racetrack on the Pepsi North America Cup undercard.

The nominees were announced on the show earlier on Wednesday evening and voting is open until Wednesday, December 30, 2015 at 11:59 p.m. Winners will be decided via open vote. Only one vote per person will be allowed.

For those following on social media, use #PostTimeAwards to join the conversation.

Post Time with Mike and Mike is harness racing's newest podcast co-hosted by track announcers Mike Bozich and Mike Carter. The show's focus is to positively promote harness racing. Every hoof that hits the racetrack, whether a claimer or a stakes horse, has a story to tell, and they plan on telling those stories. Log on to to listen. If you miss the show live, you can listen on-demand at any time. You can also follow the show on social media. Like them on Facebook at Post Time with Mike and Mike, and follow them on Twitter @ptmikeandmike1. If you would like to contact the show, email [email protected].

(With files from Post Time with Mike and Mike)

view counter

© 2021 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal