view counter
view counter

The Raceway Names Award Winners

Published: January 6, 2020 7:03 pm ET

No Comments | Jump to Comments

The Raceway at Western Fair District will hold its annual awards night on Saturday, February 22 at the Carousel Room at The Raceway.

The Raceway’s top performers for 2019 will be honoured in a variety of categories. Awards for the three-year-olds and older horses are based on the top money earners who made a minimum of six starts at The Raceway in 2019. The claiming awards are based on the most number of claiming wins at The Raceway in 2019.

The Owner of the Year award, sponsored by Standardbred Canada, goes to the top money-winning owner who was within the top five highest number of starts during the season.

Driver Marc St Louis captured his first driving title at Western Fair thanks to an outstanding season in 2019, which included 143 wins. The Michigan native was also crowned Canada’s leading dash winner with 340 wins.

St Louis’ wife, Danielle, was also crowned her first trainers title at The Raceway. The young conditioner finished off 2019 with 61 wins, 23 more than her nearest rivals Ron MacDonald and Patrick Shepherd.

The Raceway will also once again honour its Caretaker of the Year award. To qualify, caretakers must be nominated by Friday, January 31. To nominate someone, participants with a valid AGCO licence can send an email with your nomination to [email protected].

The Raceway will also honour its overall Horse of the Year the night of the event.

The fun-filled night, which includes a cocktail reception, dinner, awards and dancing, will commence at 6 p.m. Tickets are $40 per person or $280 for a table of eight and can be purchased through Marketing/Promotions Amy O’Toole at 519-438-7203 (ext. 380) or in the Race Office.

Tickets will go on sale beginning on January 13 until Wednesday February 19. Anyone interested in attending should note that tickets for this year’s event will not be sold at the door so are urged to purchase before the deadline.

The 2019 award winners are as follows:

Older Pacing Horse – Blue Moose
Older Pacing Mare – Woodmere Wyldstyle
Three-Year-Old Pacing Colt – Arnoldthepaperboy
Three-Year-Old Pacing Filly – Sporty Tori
Older Trotting Horse – Nebraska Jack
Older Trotting Mare – Impressively Done
Three-Year-Old Trotting Colt – Raising Royalty
Three-Year-Old Trotting Filly – Victoriahasasecret
Claiming Pacer – Hopetobefirst
Claiming Trotter – Spicey Victor
Owner of the Year – Jack Wray
Trainer of the Year – Danielle St Louis
Driver of the Year – Marc St Louis
Wall Tyme Outstanding Service Award – To Be Announced
Caretaker of the Year – To Be Announced
Horse of the Year – To Be Announced
Ruth Herbert Horsewoman of the year Award – To Be Announced
Racing Under Saddle Outstanding Achievement – To Be Announced

(The Raceway at Western Fair District)

view counter

© 2020 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal