T H McMurry Tops OSS Grassroots At Mohawk

T H Mcmurry
Published: August 28, 2023 11:16 pm EDT

T H McMurry led all freshman pacers on the Monday (Aug. 28) evening card at Woodbine Mohawk Park and posted the fastest time of all of the Ontario Sires Stakes Grassroots divisions with a win in 1:51.2.

Louis Philippe-Roy and T H McMurry left hard from post eight and appointed themselves as the pacesetters for the mile. Through panels in :27.4, :56.2 and 1:24.4, T H McMurry maintained at least a 1-1/2-length cushion between himself and his challengers. Into the stretch, the Jeffrey Taylor trainee kept his distance to win by 1-1/2 lengths in 1:51.2, a career-best time. Unrivaled Hanover (Jonathan Drury) finished second with Exactly My Type (Bob McClure) third.

The winner's share of the $22,600 purse pushed T H McMurry's earnings to $65,866. Owned by Jeffrey Taylor, Siobhan Andrusek and Graeme Mitchell, T H McMurry (McWicked-Waasmula) earned his second win in five starts.

Greatest Pleasure took the first $23,000 division for freshman pacing fillies, posting the fastest time of the evening for the young ladies.

Louis-Philippe Roy and the Luc Blais trainee got away sixth off the car and sat nine lengths off the leading How Much (James MacDonald) through the opening panel in :26.3. Roy tipped the filly out to follow cover behind Cheese Party (Tyler Jones) and One More Bet (Sylvain Filion) through the half in :55.1 and continuing through the three-quarters in 1:23.4. Down the lane, Greatest Pleasure kicked into gear and sprinted to a one-length victory in 1:52. One More Bet took second and How Much finished third.

Determination owns the daughter of Bettors Delight and the Somebeachsomewhere mare Twin B Imabeach as she moved her career record to 3-1-2 in seven starts with a new career mark. Greatest Pleasure paid $14.60 to win.

David Menary trainees took two of the OSS Grassroots divisions for freshman pacing fillies.

Bonitas Best Bet (All Bets Off-Bonita Beach) was driven to a three-quarter length victory in 1:53 in the $23,000 division by Doug McNair for owners Burke Racing Stable LLC, Frank Baladachino, Weaver Bruscemi, Jandt Silver and Purnel And Libby. She paid $8 to win.

James MacDonald took Menary's student Make Out With Me (Bettors Delight-Kiss Me) to a 1:52.2 victory by a neck, collecting the winner's share of the $22,600 purse for owners Menary Racing Inc., William Hartt, Scott Dillon and Michael Guerriero. She paid $11.60 to win.

Mcwicked Time and Sinatra Hanover shared in the wealth, each winning their respective $22,600 OSS Grassroots splits for freshman pacing colts and geldings while Wickedwoman De Vie took the final $22,600 division for the fillies.

Robert Robinson trainee Mcwicked Time (McWicked-Freetime) and Travis Cullen won by 1-3/4 lengths in 1:53 for owner Jacqueline Dinelle. He paid $6.40 to win.

Sinatra Hanover (Bettors Delight-Sawyer), trained by Anthony Beaton, won by a half length in 1:52.2 with Tyler Borth in the bike for owners West Wins Stable, Mark Dumain and John Fielding. He paid $10.60 to win.

Wickedwoman De Vie (McWicked-That Woman Hanover) was driven by James MacDonald for trainer Nick Gallucci and owner Millar Farms to win by 1-1/4 lengths in 1:52.3. She paid $3.50 to win.

Trainer Shawn Steacy and driver Jonathan Drury teamed up to take two splits of the OSS Grassroots for freshman colt and gelding pacers.

In a $22,600 split, D A McDreamy (McWicked-Sports Beauty) made every pole a winning one en route to a three-length victory in 1:52.2 for owners Katherine Steacy, Landmark 16 Racing Stable, Theodore Davis and Angela Haskell. He paid $3.20 to win.

Moonwalker (All Bets Off-Roses From Above) took a $22,200 split by a head in 1:52.4 for owners Dale & Pamela Larson. He paid $17.90 to win. 

With one more win in the evening nightcap with Magical Arthur, driven by Drury to win in 1:50.3, Shawn Steacy completed a training hat trick.

To view Monday's harness racing results, click the following link: Monday Results - Woodbine Mohawk Park.

Have something to say about this? Log in or create an account to post a comment.