Dutchess Seelster Upsets In Walker Memorial

Published: August 14, 2010 11:43 pm EDT

It was a night for the girls on All Trot Night at Hanover Raceway as six-year-old Dutchess Seelster, one of just two mares in the 2010 edition of the $15,000 Walker Memorial Invitational Trot, pulled off a 15-1 upset. Eight Ontario Sires Stakes Grassroots divisions for three-year-old trotting colts and geldings were also featured

on the Saturday card.

Trained and owned in part by Susie Kerwood of Rockwood, ON, Dutchess Seelster got away sixth, but it was her late closing kick, and a quality drive by Bruce Richardson of Arthur, ON that saw her win by two lengths in 2:00.1, when it counted.

Afterwards, Kerwood said she had a bit of concern going into the race. She knew her mare was in tough against some quality colts and geldings, and she drew the outside six post position.

However, Kerwood said Richardson drove the daughter of Duke Of York-Desi Sweet Sixteen perfectly with a second over trip and once she saw that her mare was fourth at the three-quarter pole, she knew her mare would close well.

Pacesetter No Bananas (Dave Boughton), owned by Murray Cox of Rockwood, ON and Kim Matthews of Belwood, ON finished second. In fact, Matthews also trains No Bananas, making it a 1-2 finish for female trainers in the 36th annual event. Bertorico (Larry Walker) finished third off a pocket trip.

The win was Dutchess Seelster's fourth of the year in 11 starts and pushed her seasonal earnings to $22,240. She paid $33.00 to win as the longest shot on the board.

The All Trot card also included eight Ontario Sires Stakes Grassroots divisions for three-year-old trotting colts and geldings competing for $24,000 per race.

The highlights included both of the top two finisher’s in the 2010 Dream of Glory Championship winning their divisions. 2010 Champion Krakatoa, owned by Bloomingwood Farms of Harriston, ON won Race 8 by open lengths in 1:59. Randy Fritz drove the Amigo Hall-Pretty Muscles colt for trainer Gregg McNair. Second-place Dream of Glory finisher Anahar Chase, driven by Stuart Sowerby, won Race 3 in 1:59.2. The oaklea Julien-Oaklea Hannah colt is owned by trained Michel Rivest of Lynden, Denis Rivest of Palgrave and Gary Silliphant of Simcoe, ON.

The fastest of the winners was in the final OSS division in Race 9, when Incredible Kadabra, owned by Len Kordy of Kingston, ON, and trained by John Bax of Peterborough, ON won his leg in 1:58, just one second off the track record. Stephen Byron drove the son of Kadabra-Joys Incredible.

The other OSS winners were Boogie Woogie and Keith oliver in 1:59.4; Santo Domingo and Dave Wall in 1:59.1; C J D Sale and Marcel Barrieau in 2:01.3; Lukes Raoule and Stephen Byron in 1:59.3; Lexis D J and Scott Zeron in 1:59

The Saugeen Claiming Series begins this Wednesday night, with a total of 17 horses competing for $24,000 in leg one. There will be two legs and a final to be held on Saturday, September 11. Post time on Wednesday night is 7:20 p.m.

To view Saturday's results, click here.

(With files from Hanover Raceway)

Have something to say about this? Log in or create an account to post a comment.