SJHHA Awards Banquet Winners

Published: May 22, 2013 01:55 pm EDT

Trot Insider has received the list of winners from the Saint John Harness Horseman's Association Awards Banquet, which took place at the Colonial Inn this past Saturday.

Maritime comedy icon Jimmy Flynn was on hand to entertain for the evening. He was later awarded an honorary membership into the SJHHA and presented with a plaque.

Horse of the Year
• Female - A As Glory
• Male - Untouchable One

Horseman of the Year
• Allan Ross

Owner of the Year
• Sifroi Melanson

Female Groom
• Cindy Gunn

Male Groom
• Gary Kierstead

Driver of the Year
• Gilles Barrieau

Trainer of the Year
• Gilles Barrieau

Fastest Aged Pacer
• Skippy

Aged Pacer
• Dance Hanover

Miramichi Elmer
• Lira Lira

Most Improved
• Iwish Iwish

Claimer of the Year
• Valid Appeal

• Slim N Sleek

Two-Year-Old Filly
• Carls Glory

Three-Year-Old Filly
• A As Glory

Two-Year-Old Colt
• Untouchable One

Three-Year-Old Colt
• First Art Down

Promoter of the Year
• Debbie Mahar

Future Stars of Harness Racing Awards:

• Devon Allaby
• Lindsey Allaby
• Nicholas Cormier
• Noah Cormier
• Lauren Downey
• Michael Downey
• Scotty Hubbard
• Lindsay Kokotailo
• Alex MacNeil
• Kate MacNeil
• Abigail Merzetti
• Josh Osborne
• Megan Osborne

There were a couple personal recognition awards. Natalie Wood was named as the track's 'Meadowlands Put-Away Groom,' while the 'Cleanest Tack Award' was awarded to Lorraine Lewis.

One Atlantic Standardbred Breeders Award was won by Untouchable One for being two-year-old Maritime champion.

Sire Carlspur and Cheryl-Geldart Greer were awarded the Championship Breeder Award.

There was a new award announced on Saturday. The Ultimate Stables Tobin Paradise Awards winner was Casimir Japa, and Fastest Mare of the Year was Kaylas Sophia.

Finally, two other winners of record were:

Fastest Pacing Aged Horse
• Skippy, 1:57 (Fredericton)

Claimer Most Wins EPR
• Forever Finesse, 13

Have something to say about this? Log in or create an account to post a comment.