view counter
view counter

Hardware Handed Out In Truro

Published: April 8, 2014 12:09 pm ET

No Comments | Jump to Comments

The Truro Harness Horse Owners Association held its annual banquet at the Truro Horsemen’s Club in Bible Hill, NS on March 29.

The host for the evening was Kent Oakes and the special guest for the evening was Nova Scotia Agriculture Minister Keith Colwell.

Also in attendance was NDP MLA Lenore Zann, who is a great supporter of horse racing in the area.

The list of winners appears below.

Two-Year-Old Colt of the Year
• Rancousy
Owner: Don Smith
Trainer/Driver: Darren Crowe

Two-Year-Old Filly of the Year
• I C Anastro
Owner/Trainer: Steve Morton

Three-Year-Old Colt of the Year
• The Rev
Owners: Bob and Jeff Skinner, the GLB Stable
Trainer/Driver: Danny Romo

Three-Year-Old Filly of the Year
• Whistys Paradise
Owner: Chris Laffin
Trainer: Blair Laffin
Driver: Ernie Laffin

Claiming Horse of the Year
• Weird Albert
Owner/Trainer: Devin O'Connor

Claiming Mare of the Year
• Lady McCardle
Owner/Trainer/Driver: Dave Carey

Horse of the Year
• St Lads Dagwood
Owner/Trainer: Kenny Greene
Driver: Ernie Laffin

Aged Mare of the Year
• Whistys Pride
Owner: Lloyd Nelson
Trainer: Blair Laffin

Most Improved Horse
• Neigh Monster
Owners: Chantel Gillis, Eddie Ellis and Fred Buffet
Trainer: Joe Gillis

Jim Chamber's Sportsmanship Awards
• Trainer: Owen Fletcher
• Driver: Jim Ripley

Senior Horseman of the Year
• Eddie Ellis

Horsewoman of the Year
• Pam Moore

Grooms of the Year
• Chantel Gillis and Norm Atkinson

Junior Horsepeople of the Year
• Faith Ramsey and Anthony Croft

3D Award
• Bernard ‘Pooker’ McCallum

Horseperson Merit Award
• Rosanne Langille

Owner of the Year Award
• Cindy Christie/Joe Green

Special Recognition Award
• Matt Veno

Rookie of the Year
• Mark Whidden

Driver of the Year (over 50 starts, but under 100 starts)
• Hilliard Graves

Driver of the Year (over 100 starts)
• Ryan Ellis

Trainer of the Year (over 50 starts, but under 100 starts)
• Bernard ‘Pooker’ McCallum and Danny Romo

Trainer of the Year (over 100 starts)
• Jonah Moase

High Percentage Driver Award
• Ryan Ellis

Nova Scotia Stake Series Award Winners
• Waterside Light (owned by Hilliard Graves)
• Pictonian Sareta (owned by Daniel Ross)
• Majian Magic (owned by Mary Lee and Jim Ripley)
• West River Xcel (owned by Clare and Kenny MacDonald)

view counter

© 2021 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal