Manitoba's 2023 Award Winners Honoured

Braxtons Boy winning at The Loop
Published: March 9, 2024 11:05 pm EST

Manitoba's top performers from the 2023 harness racing season were celebrated at the annual Manitoba Standardbred Racing Industry Awards Banquet on Saturday, March 9.

The event, presented by the Manitoba Standardbred Sires and Breeders Association (MSSBA) and Manitoba Harness Horsemen Inc. (MHHI), was held at the Canad Inns Destination Centre in Portage la Prairie, Man.

Braxtons Boy was named the top Manitoba-bred horse in addition to earning divisional honours for his successful three-year-old campaign in 2023. Trainer Richard and Janet Rey's homebred won five of his 11 starts in Manitoba during his debut season including the Golden Boy Stakes final. The son of Whosurboy is out of the Badlands Hanover mare, Nitrous Force, who was named Broodmare of the Year.

Top trainer Trevor Williams was also named Horseperson of the Year while Blake Piwniuk took top driving honours for the second straight year. Other repeat winners included filly AK Nite Lady and sire Andreoli Hanover.

A complete list of award winners follows.

MSRI Manitoba Two-Year-Old Filly
Trust Me Alot

MSRI Manitoba Two-Year-Old Colt/Gelding

MSRI Manitoba Three-Year-Old Filly
AK Nite Lady

MRSI Manitoba Three-Year-Old Colt/Gelding
Braxtons Boy

MRSI Manitoba Aged Mare
Skys Little Spunk

MRSI Manitoba Aged Horse/Gelding
Two Shoes

Top Manitoba-Bred
Braxtons Boy

MSRI Broodmare of the Year
Nitrous Force

MSRI Sire of the Year
Andreoli Hanover

MSRI Aged Mare of the Year
I Will Do It

MSRI Aged Horse of the Year
Tuff As Buff

MSRI Claimer of the Year
Tuff As Buff

MSRI Rookie of the Year
Aaron Mason

MSRI See Me Go Award of Sportsmanship
Stefan Rey

MSRI Top Driver - UDRS
Blake Piwniuk

MSRI Top Driver - Wins
Blake Piwniuk

MSRI Top Trainer - UTRS
Trevor Williams

MRSI Top Trainer - Wins
Trevor Williams

MSRI Caretakers of the Year
Maxine Fillion
Patricia Norman

MSRI Lifetime Breeders Achievement Award
Dave Mooney

Standardbred Canada Owner of the Year
Alice Gilbert

MHHI Owner of the Year
Aurel Vodon

MSRI Ron Waples Award
Cliff Cullen

MHHI Horseperson of the Year
Trevor Williams

(Standardbred Canada; Photo of Braxtons Boy winning at The Loop)

Have something to say about this? Log in or create an account to post a comment.