Alberta Nominees Announced

Published: March 9, 2016 07:06 pm EST

The Alberta Standardbred Horse Association (ASHA) will be hosting its annual awards banquet honouring the champions of 2015 on Friday, April 8 at the Radisson Hotel (Calgary Airport).

The Radisson is located at 6620 36th Street NE in Calgary. Cocktails will be served at 6 p.m., with dinner to follow at 7 p.m. Tickets can be purchased from ASHA for $50 each.

The nominees are listed below.

Two-Year-Old AB Stakes Filly
- Divas Dragonfly
- Jet Blue Burner
- Monstrous

Two-Year-Old Filly
- Credit The Shark
- Divas Dragonfly
- Jet Blue Burner

Two-Year-Old AB Stakes Colt/Gelding
- Blue Star Jet
- Outlaw Gettinrdone
- Wrangler Cash

Two-Year-Old Colt/Gelding
- Blue Star Jet
- Outlaw Turn N Burn
- Wrangler Cash

Three-Year-Old AB Stakes Filly
- Blue Star Texas
- Fire Watch
- Take On Da Boys

Three-Year-Old Filly
- Blue Star Texas
- Fire Watch
- Thats Extra

Three-Year-Old AB Stakes Colt/Gelding
- Cool Cowboy
- Johnny Gun
- Pablos First

Three-Year-Old Colt/Gelding
- First Class Horse
- Have Not Read It
- Mysharona Bluechip

Champion Aged Mare
- Rummys Command
- Sing Like An Angel
- Tajmeallover

Champion Aged Horse
- Get Thereovernight
- Ghost Pine
- Who Doesnt

Claimer, Fillies/Mares
- Gottaluckydeal
- Phoenician Gal
- Runway Model

Claimer, Colts/Geldings
- Camblazer
- Make It So
- Raging Fingers

Rising Star
- Devann Crick
- David Kelly
- Preston Shaw

Groom of the Year
- Nominees to follow

Trainer, under 200 starts
- Brandon Campbell
- Majorie Dumont
- Ryan Grundy

Trainer of the Year
- Keith Clark
- Travis Cullen
- Kelly Hoerdt

Driver, under 200 starts
- Paul Davies
- J.F. Gagne
- David Kelly

Driver of the Year
- Brandon Campbell
- Travis Cullen
- Kelly Hoerdt
- Bill Tainsh Jr.

Horseperson of the Year
- Keith Clark
- Travis Cullen
- Kelly Hoerdt

Owner of the Year
- Gary Clark
- Kelly Hoerdt/Blair Corbeil
- Robert Jones/Doris McDougall

Breeder of the Year
- Meadowlark Farms
- Meridian Farms/Bill Andrew
- Outlaw Stable

Fastest Girl
- Feelin Flush

Fastest Boy
- Ghost Pine

Breeders Award of Recognition
- Pieter Besselink

Ron McLeod Award
- Nominee to follow

Horse of the Year
- To be announced

(Photos clockwise from top left: Alberta Super Final winners Divas Dragonfly, Wrangler Cash, Fire Watch and Cool Cowboy. Courtesy of Carys Richards/Coady Photo.)