Oakes Elected SC Chair

Published: February 7, 2014 04:40 pm EST

On Friday, February 7, Standardbred Canada elected its Officers & Executive Committee for 2014-2016.

Kent Oakes of North Wiltshire, P.E.I. is the new Chair of Standardbred Canada.

Elected to office are:

• Kent Oakes (Chair of the Board)

• Jackson Wittup (Vice-Chair)

• Ruleen Lilley (Chair of Breeders Committee)

• Dr. Mitchell Downey (Past Chair)

• Diane Bertrand (Executive Committee Member)

• Jody Jamieson (Executive Committee Member)

• Morag Watt (Executive Committee Member)

The Oakes family has been involved in harness racing since the early 1960s, spanning three generations.

As an employee of the Province of Prince Edward Island, Oakes has been given the opportunity to have worked in partnership with the provincial, regional, and national harness racing industry for over 20 years.

Some of the committees and organizations that Oakes serves on the Board of include the Atlantic Harness Racing Development Council, Atlantic Breeders Crown Host Committee, Council of Atlantic Premiers Task Force on Harness Racing, P.E.I. Harness Racing Industry Association, Atlantic Classic Sale, Harness Racing P.E.I., P.E.I. Matinee Tracks Association, and the Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame Nominating Committee.

Oakes’ work profile also includes being Chief Executive Officer of the Prince Edward Island Lotteries Commission, and over the years he has been asked to serve on an interim basis as Director of Racing at the Maritime Provinces Harness Racing Commission, as well as Racing Manager at Red Shores Racetrack and Casino at Charlottetown Driving Park, and Red Shores Summerside Raceway. Oakes also served as the Provincial Government Representative on the Planning and Construction committee for the redevelopment of the Charlottetown Driving Park.



Have something to say about this? Log in or create an account to post a comment.