BC's Best Honoured With Awards

Published: February 24, 2016 09:42 am EST

On Tuesday night (February 23) Harness Racing B.C. held its annual awards banquet and feted the top horsepeople and equine athletes from the 2015 harness racing season

"Tonight we celebrated the achievements of our horses, horsemen, women and breeders who continue to reflect well on the Standardbred industry in British Columbia," noted Carla Robin, Executive Director of Harness Racing BC. "To be honoured as the best in BC harness racing or breeding is not an easy accomplishment. Each person recognized tonight worked hard for many years to reach this level of excellence. Every horse that wins an award represents another step forward in the development of harness racing in BC."

The ceremony took place at Elements Casino's Escape Lounge. The winners are as follows:

  • Driver of the Year (20-100 Starts) - Jamie Gray

  • Driver of the Year (101-250 Starts) - Serge Masse

  • Driver of the Year (Over 250 Starts ) - Bill Davis

  • Driver Dash Winner - Brandon Campbell

  • Trainer of the Year (20-100 Starts ) - Daniel Gaboury

  • Trainer of the Year (101-250 Starts ) - John Chappell

  • Trainer of the Year (Over 250 Starts) - Bill Davis

  • Trainer Dash Winner - Bill Davis

  • Rookie Trainer of the Year - Derek Lester

  • Groom of the Year - Kelly Medland

  • Backstretch Award - Nelson Craig

Breeding Division Awards

  • Two-Year-Old Filly - Mach And Roll Baby

  • Two-Year-Old Colt - One Big Cat

  • Three -Year-Old Filly - Watch My Luck

  • Three-Year-Old Colt or Gelding - Illwinifican

  • Aged Mare - Im Tu Die For

  • Aged Horse or Gelding - Garden Gate LL

  • Broodmare of the Year - Builttowin Hanover

  • Breeder of the Year - Randy Rutledge and Jennifer Dodsworth

Racing Division Awards

  • Outstanding Claimer ($7,500 & Under) - Garden Gate LL

  • Outstanding Claimer ($8,000 & Over) - Pureform Goodtogo

  • Aged Mare - Pureform Goodtogo

  • Aged Horse or Gelding - Sterling Cooper

  • Outstanding Performance - Phone Terror

  • Fastest Mile of the Year - Sterling Cooper

  • TBC Future Champion Filly - Charabby

  • TBC Future Champion Colt or Gelding - Credit Risk

  • Horseperson of the Year - Dennis Johnston

  • Standardbred Canada Owner of the Year - Evert & Eleanor Vandenborn

  • Doug Gillespie Award - Darren Callaghan

(with files from HRBC)