view counter
view counter

The Raceway Presents Its 2019 Awards

Published: February 22, 2020 9:15 pm ET

No Comments | Jump to Comments

The 43rd annual awards banquet at The Raceway at Western Fair District was held on Saturday evening (Feb. 22) in The Raceway’s Carousal Room.

The large crowd in attendance enjoyed a reception, fabulous buffet dinner, the awards presentation and then dancing until the wee hours of the morning.

Jack Wray was the star of the show as the veteran horseman captured the Wall Tyme Lifetime Achievement Award along with Owner of the Year. Wray also took home additional hardware with Arnoldthepaperboy capturing Pacing Three-Year-Old of the Year, while his Impressively Done was awarded Older Trotting Mare of the Year.

Blue Moose, a son of Badlands Hanover, was crowned Aged Pacer of the Year and Horse of the Year for owner-driver Robert Shepherd and trainer Isabelle Darveau. The five-year-old was an 11-time winner from 19 starts at The Raceway, earning well north of $50,000 during his campaign.

Driver Marc St. Louis captured his first driving title at Western Fair thanks to an outstanding season in 2019, which included 143 wins. The Michigan native was also crowned Canada’s leading dash winner with 340 wins.

St. Louis’ wife, Danielle, also won her first trainer's title at The Raceway. The young conditioner finished 2019 with 61 wins, 23 more than her nearest rivals Ron MacDonald and Patrick Shepherd.

Brenda Campbell was named the Ruth Herbert Horsewoman of the Year.

Finally, Stacey Currie was crowned Caretaker of the Year.

A special thanks goes out to all the sponsors.

The 2019 award winners are as follows:

Older Pacing Horse – Blue Moose
Older Pacing Mare – Woodmere Wyldstyle
Three-Year-Old Pacing Colt – Arnoldthepaperboy
Three-Year-Old Pacing Filly – Sporty Tori
Older Trotting Horse – Nebraska Jack
Older Trotting Mare – Impressively Done
Three-Year-Old Trotting Colt – Raising Royalty
Three-Year-Old Trotting Filly – Victoriahasasecret
Claiming Pacer – Hopetobefirst
Claiming Trotter – Spicey Victor
Owner of the Year – Jack Wray
Trainer of the Year – Danielle St Louis
Driver of the Year – Marc St Louis
Wall Tyme Outstanding Service Award – Jack Wray
Caretaker of the Year – Stacey Currie
Horse of the Year – Blue Moose
Ruth Herbert Horsewoman of the year Award – Brenda Campbell
Racing Under Saddle Outstanding Achievement – Maggie Jones

(The Raceway at Western Fair District)

view counter

© 2021 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal