Spotlight On The Grand Circuit

Published: December 2, 2015 12:18 pm EST

The publicity department for the Grand Circuit has sent out its final recap of 2015, as Grand Circuit racing has come to a close for the year.

This Week: The 2015 Grand Circuit season has come to a close. The 2016 schedule will be released in January.

Last time: George Teague Jr. Inc.'s Wiggle It Jiggleit led every step of a 1:48.2 mile to win the $300,000 Hap Hansen Progress Pace final this past Monday night (Nov. 30) at Dover Downs.

The three-year-old son of Mr Wiggles-Mozzi Hanover cut fractions of :26.1, :54 and 1:20.4 for driver Montrell Teague and kicked home in :27.3 on his way to a three and three-quarter-length victory over Dealt A Winner (who was driven by David Miller). Dudes The Man (Corey Callahan) finished third.

The victory was the 22nd from 26 seasonal starts for Wiggle It Jiggleit, who saw his 2015 earnings climb to $2,181,995.

A festive and well-attended evening was made even better for Burke Racing Stable, The Panhellenic Stable, Weaver Bruscemi and Lawrence Karr, when their horse Sassa Hanover won the $120,000 Courageous Lady on Friday (Nov. 27) at Northfield Park.

Trained by Ron Burke and driven by North America’s leading money-winning driver, Yannick Gingras, Sassa Hanover prevailed in 1:52.1, a stakes and track record performance for three-year-old filly pacers.

After having blasted off the gate and being pressed to get the lead through a :26 opening quarter over a ‘sloppy’ track, Sassa Hanvoer led unchallenged through middle fractions of :55 and 1:23.2. Turning for home Gingras enjoyed a two and a half-length lead, but hung on by only a head over hard-charging Bettor N Better (Tim Tetrick).

Sassa Hanover (Rock N Roll Heaven–Sayo Hanover) now has 16 wins from 34 lifetime starts. Friday’s victory increased her career bankroll to $1,008,469. She went to post as the bettors’ choice and returned $3.60 to win.

Grand Circuit Standings: In 2015, the Grand Circuit leaders in three categories (driver, trainer and owner) will once again be tracked on a points system (20-10-5 for the top three finishers in divisions/finals and 10-5-2 for the top three finishers in eliminations/legs). Winbak Farm is the sponsor for the 2015 Grand Circuit awards.

Here are the final standings for the 2015 season:

Drivers: 1. Yannick Gingras – 1,599; 2. David Miller – 1,311.5; 3. Tim Tetrick – 1,215; 4. Brett Miller – 670; 5. Scott Zeron – 586.5.

Trainers: 1. Ron Burke – 1,932; 2. Jimmy Takter – 1,605; 3. Tony Alagna – 612.5; 4. Jeff Bamond Jr. – 395; 5. Ake Svanstedt – 386.

Owners: 1. Burke Racing – 446.3; 2. Weaver Bruscemi – 374.35; 3. Bamond Racing – 330; 4. Christina Takter – 252.1; 5. George Teague Jr. Inc. – 250.

Looking ahead: The 2015 Grand Circuit schedule will be released in January.

(Grand Circuit)