view counter
view counter

Top MB Honours For Howlett, Williams

Published: December 2, 2013 4:22 pm ET

No Comments | Jump to Comments

Manitoba Harness Horsemen Inc., along with the province’s sires and breeders association, held the annual awards banquet this past Saturday (November 30) at the St. Claude Hall in St. Claude, Manitoba.

Owners Trevor and Mike Williams as well as Don Howlett started the night off early by capturing the top three-year-old colt and gelding trophy and top overall Manitoba-sired horse with pacing phenom Reys N A Commotion. The three-year-old son of Armbro Trench was trained this year by Richard Rey, who was also a winner of the top trainer category later on in the evening.

Williams and Howlett continued that success throughout the night, taking home aged mare of the year with Julie Caesar and overall aged horse of the year honours with Outlaw Spider.

This year’s Standardbred Canada award placed former winner Trevor Williams and his father Mike head-to-head to battle for owner of the year. In the end, Mike Williams was given the award.

Later on in the evening, Paula Mason, was honoured with the rookie of the year category after following in her parents’ (Darryl and Sherri) footsteps by becoming a licensed trainer in 2013.

Owner/breeder Al Drader and trainer/driver Betty Manning were also given this year’s lifetime membership award by the MHHI for their involvement in the industry over the years.

A full list of award winners are listed below and can also be viewed here along with news and next year’s racing schedule, when available.

MB-Sired Two-Year-Old
Mexican Maid (Owner: Don Anness)

MB-Sired Three-Year-Old Filly
For The Roses (Owner: Roland Rey)

MB-Sired Three-Year Old Colt/Gelding
Reys N A Commotion (Owners: Trevor Williams, Don Howlett, Mike Williams)

MB Aged Mare
Dougies Deal (Owner: Janet Rey)

MB-Sired Aged Horse
Tomono (Owner: Barry McNaughton)

MB Horse of the Year
Reys N A Commotion (Owners: Trevor Williams, Don Howlett, Mike Williams)

Broodmare of the Year
Thundrabird (Owner: Richard Rey)

Sire of the Year
Armbro Baylor (Owners: Darryl and Sherri Mason)

Claimer of the Year
Judges Discretion (Owners: Fred and Derek Gilbert)

Aged Mare of the Year
Julie Caesar (Owners: Trevor Williams, Don Howlett, Mike Williams)

Aged Horse of the Year
Outlaw Spider (Owners: Trevor Williams, Don Howlett and Mike Williams)

Rookie of the Year
Paula Mason

Caretaker/Groom of the Year
• Janet Rey

Standardbred Canada Owner of the Year
• Mike Williams

Top Trainer (Under 40 Starts)
Roland Rey

Top Trainer (Over 40 Starts)
Richard Rey

Top Driver (Under 40 Starts)
Greg Manning

Top Driver (Over 40 Starts)
Don Howlett

Horseperson of the Year
Don Howlett

Ron Waples Award
• Mike Williams

Lifetime Memberships
• Al Drader and Betty Manning

(Manitoba Great Western Harness)

view counter

© 2022 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal