view counter
view counter

Shorelines Championship To MacDonald

Published: October 1, 2017 12:09 am ET

No Comments | Jump to Comments

Brett MacDonald was the winner in the Shorelines Drivers’ Championship Saturday, September 30, which was the featured event on the closing program of the 2017 meet at Kawartha Downs.

The top nine drivers over the season, Reg Gassien, Nick Boyd, Jim Gillespie, MacDonald, Rick Webb, Steve Hudon, Dan Gassien, Justin Turcotte and Rob Doyle, went head to head over five races, and, with a pair of victories, MacDonald took home the top prize.

He started with a victory in the first leg of the competition with Sunset Filly, who was a two-length winner in 1:54.4. MacDonald also won the final leg of the Championship with K Slater, who was home with four lengths to spare.

Also capturing legs of the Championship were Steve Hudon, who finished second overall, Dan Gassien and Nick Boyd. Reg Gassien, last year’s winner, finished third.

Another fantastic crowd was on hand to send the 2017 season out in style. Reg Gassien was the leading driver for 2017 while Dave Gibson was the top trainer again. Thanks to Kawartha Downs' incredible fans, horse people and staff who contributed to another wonderful season of racing.

To view Saturday's harness racing results, click on the following link: Saturday Results - Kawartha Downs.

(With files from Kawartha Downs)

view counter

© 2020 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal