view counter
view counter

Prix d'Amerique Field Set

Published: January 26, 2017 9:35 am ET

No Comments | Jump to Comments

The field seeking to capture one of harness racing's most elusive prizes is now complete as 18 trotters will head postward in the 2017 Prix d'Amerique this Sunday at Hippodrome Paris-Vincennes.

Trotting sensation Bold Eagle will look to defend his title in the 2,700-metre (1/11/16 mile) event. The six-year-old son of Ready Cash has dominated his competition since setting foot on the racetrack, with 30 wins from 35 lifetime starts and earnings exceeding $3.1-million (CAD) for trainer Sébastien Guarato and owner Ecurie Pierre Pilarski.

Iron horse Timoko ranks highly among the contenders looking to upset the likely favourite. The now 10-year-old finished second to Bold Eagle on New Year's Day in the Prix de Bourgogne, the last time each of these two trotters raced.

Trainer Daniel Réden sends out a record four Prix d'Amerique starters, including two with strong North American ties. Réden is the trainer of Call Me Keeper, Lionel -- who defeated Bold Eagle in the 2-1/2 mile Prix de Paris in 2016 -- as well as North American-bred Propulsion and 2015 Breeders Crown winner Wild Honey.

Also among the contenders is Treasure Kronos, a five-year-old mare owned by Canada's David Goodrow and U.S.-based Jeffrey and Michael Snyder. She won the Criterium Continental at the Vincennes track in Paris on Christmas Day, earning her an invitation to the Prix d'Amerique.

Here's the field for the € 1 million Prix d'Amerique:

1. Treasure Kronos – Christoffer Eriksson
2. Briac Dark – David Thomain
3. Call Me Keeper – Pierre Vercruysse
4. Propulsion – Orjan Kihlström
5. Bélina Josselyn – Jean-Michel Bazire
6. Lionel – Matthieu Abrivard
7. Booster Winner – Eric Raffin
8. Princess Grif – Roberto Andreghetti
9. Anna Mix – Mathieu Mottier
10. Bird Parker – Jean-Philippe Monclin
11. Akim du Cap Vert – Franck Anne
12. Wild Honey – Gabriele Gelormini
13. Voltigeur du Myrt – Lorenzo Donati
14. Oasis Bi – Johnny Takter
15. Univers de Pan - Philippe Daugeard
16. Tiégo d’Etang – Charles-Julien Bigeon
17. Bold Eagle – Franck Nivard
18. Timoko – Björn Goop

view counter

© 2020 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal