view counter
view counter

Western Fair Announces Award Winners

Published: January 11, 2016 4:47 pm ET

No Comments | Jump to Comments

Officials with The Raceway at Western Fair District have announced the majority of the track’s 2015 award winners, who will be honoured during the Western Fair’s annual awards night, which will take place this year on Saturday, February 20.

For the first time ever, the awards night will be held in the Progress Building at the Western Fair District.

The Raceway’s top performers for 2015 have been selected and will be honoured in a variety of categories. Awards for the three-year-olds and older horses are based on the top money earners who made at least six starts at The Raceway during 2015. The top claimer awards are based on total number of claiming wins at The Raceway in the same calendar year.

The Owner of the Year award, sponsored by Standardbred Canada, goes to the owner who finished in the top 10 for money winnings and had the highest number of starters during the season.

The popular Caretaker of the Year award will be handed out once again. To qualify, caretakers must be nominated by Friday, January 22. To nominate someone, send an email with your reason why to one of the following: [email protected], [email protected] or [email protected].

The Raceway will also honour its Horse of the Year the night of the event.

The evening will include dinner and dancing and tickets go on sale next week. They will be available in both the race office and marketing department. For more information, call 519-438-7203 (Ext. 380).

A list of the 2015 Raceway Award winners appears below.

Older Pacing Horse
• Kendal Gustav

Older Pacing Mare
• Alexas Hope

Three-Year-Old Pacing Colt
• St Lads Flirt

Three-Year-Old Pacing Filly
• Pinky Tuscadero

Older Trotting Horse
• Kennel Buddy

Older Trotting Mare
• Thundering Ovation

Three-Year-Old Trotting Colt
• Federal

Three-Year-Old Trotting Filly
• Magic Dancing

Claiming Pacer
• Cat Four

Claiming Trotter (tied)
• Northern Illusion
• Thunderaway

• Alfie Carroll

• Vic Puddy

• Larry Johnson

Dave Wall Outstanding Service Award


Horse Of The Year

Ruth Herbert Horse Woman Of The Year

(With files from The Raceway at Western Fair District)

view counter

© 2021 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal