view counter
view counter

Hannelore And Ariana Set To Spar

Published: August 8, 2018 1:49 pm ET

No Comments | Jump to Comments

There is no doubt that harness racing fans have been waiting patiently for the day that Hannelore Hanover and Ariana G finally meet on the racetrack. That wait will be over very soon, as the two female trotting stars are now set to battle this weekend.

Tioga Downs will host one of the biggest cards of its 2018 season this Sunday (Aug. 12), and the post positions for those races have now been drawn.

The headliner will be the $141,000 Joie de Vie Mare Trot (Race 8) where the long anticipated matchup between 2017 Horse of the Year Hannelore Hanover and 2017 sophomore filly title holder Ariana G will finally come to pass. ‘Hannelore’ has drawn the rail, while Ariana G will begin from Post 4. Only one of them can be driven by Yannick Gingras, who will have to make a difficult choice between the mares.

All of the top mares currently racing are in the field, including the winner of last Saturday's Steele Memorial at the Meadowlands Racetrack, Dream Together, along with Broadway Donna and Caprice Hill, who followed her in.

The Crawford Farms Open Trot (Race 9) will feature a full field of 10 that will tussle for the lion’s share of the $186,000 purse. Will Take Charge appears to be the horse to beat, as Marion Marauder is not among the entrants.

The elimination races for the $500,000 Empire Breeders Classic will also be contested on Sunday (the finals are scheduled for Sunday, Aug. 19). Both the colts’ and fillies’ divisions have seen 13 entered. Courtly Choice and American History lead the colt brigade, while Youaremycandygirl will head into the filly race hot off of her dazzling 1:48.2 Meadowlands track record in the Shady Daisy.

The card will kick off with a 1:00 p.m. first-race post time.

The fields for the Joie de Vie Mare Trot and the Crawford Farms Open Trot appear below, in post position order.

$141,000 Joie De Vie Open Mare Trot
(Race 8)
(Post – Horse – Listed Driver)
1 – Hannelore Hanover – Yannick Gingras
2 – Celebrity Ruth – Jim Marohn Jr.
3 – Broadway Donna – David Miller
4 – Ariana G – Yannick Gingras
5 – Dream Together – Bob McClure
6 – P L Jill – Brett Miller
7 – Emoticon Hanover – Daniel Dube
8 – Caprice Hill – Doug McNair
9 – Ice Attraction – Ake Svanstedt

$186,000 Crawford Farms Open Trot
(Race 9)
(Post – Horse – Listed Driver)
1 – Top Flight Angel – Andy Miller
2 – Pinkman – Yannick Gingras
3 – Will Take Charge – Tim Tetrick
4 – Yes Mickey – Ake Svanstedt
5 – Bills Man – Corey Callahan/Tim Tetrick/Brian Sears
6 – Dayson – Yannick Gingras
7 – I Know My Chip – Jim Marohn Jr.
8 – Warrawee Roo – Bob McClure
9 – JL Cruze – Brett Miller
10 – Obrigado – Mark MacDonald
AE1 – Lagerfeld – David Miller
AE2 – Tuonoblu Rex – Andy Miller

(With files from Tioga Downs)

view counter

© 2020 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal