view counter
view counter

Cutler Memorial Final Set

Published: June 21, 2016 1:42 pm ET

No Comments | Jump to Comments

The $200,000 Arthur J. Cutler Memorial will see seven of the top older trotters that are currently racing convene at the Meadowlands Racetrack to contest the 19th renewal of the Grand Circuit stakes event this Friday (June 24).

Mr. Cutler was a popular and successful Manhattan restaurateur. His empire of restaurants began in 1990 with Carmines (still a popular Italian family style venue) and grew to embrace several cuisines such as Ollie's Noodle Shop, Gabriela's Mexican and Virgil's BBQ. A Virgil's location is set to be opened soon by Mr. Cutler's longtime friend, Jeff Gural, as part of the renovations at Tioga Downs.

On the track (Race 7), it's a ‘quality-over-quantity’ field that includes Obrigado, who will seek to make it three consecutive memorial trots, as he has annexed the Charlie Hill and Maxie Lee in his last two starts. A winner 37 times in 67 career starts, Obrigado is now extremely close to the coveted million-dollar mark in career earnings. Trainer Paul Kelley shares ownership of the classy veteran with the SRF Stable, Linwood Higgins and Stable 45. Mark MacDonald has been listed to drive.

Resolve will be making his first start back state-side for Ake Svanstedt after an impressive showing in the Elitlopp last month where he finished second in that final to Nuncio.

JL Cruze will return to his favourite track as he searches for the form that made him virtually invincible in his award-winning season of one year ago.

The Burke Stable has drawn Post 1 and Post 2 with Crazy Wow and Gural Hanover, respectively. Wind Of The North and Flanagan Memory are both accomplished trotters who add class and form to the contentious field.

First-race post time for the Meadowlands’ Friday card is 7:15 p.m.

$200,000 Arthur J. Cutler Memorial
(Post – Horse – Listed Driver - Trainer)
1 – Crazy Wow – Tim Tetrick – Ron Burke
2 – Gural Hanover – Yannick Gingras – Ron Burke
3 – JL Cruze – John Campbell – Eric Ell
4 – Obrigado – Mark MacDonald – Paul Kelley
5 – Flanagan Memory – Brian Sears – Rene Dion
6 – Wind Of The North – David Miller – Daryl Bier
7 – Resolve – Ake Svanstedt – Ake Svanstedt

(Meadowlands Racetrack)

view counter

© 2021 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal