view counter
view counter

The Leaders Of The Pack - Part 8

Published: September 21, 2012 7:34 pm ET

No Comments | Jump to Comments

The Leaders Of The Park Series takes a closer look at the eight New York Sire Stakes divisional leaders and their biggest threats in the $1.8 million Night of Champions at Yonkers Raceway on September 22. The final edition highlights the three-year-old trotting filly division.

Three-Year-Old Filly Trot

The Leader: Fortunista, a filly by Credit Winner out of the Valley Victory mare Meadowbranch Mary, owned by Gilbert Garcia-Herriera and Barbara and Donald Arnstine, and trained by Gilbert Garcia-Herriera.

Defending NYSS Champion For A Dancer got all the headlines early this year, then it was Cowgirl Hall and Win Missy B. But the filly who finished first in the final NYSS standings was Fortunista, who won her division of the last NYSS stop at Yonkers on Sept. 11 to edge Cowgirl Hall, who was second by a nose to Win Missy B in a track record 1:54.4 in a separate division. Fortunista finished with 262 points, four more than Cowgirl Hall.

They were followed by Kristins Victory (205), For A Dancer (187), Annadamide (183), Lima Playmate (153), Win Missy B (150) and Whimzical Britt (137).
They will face off in the $225,000 NYSS Final at Yonkers Saturday on Night of Champions.

To say that Fortunista’s success was surprising would be an understatement. She had lost all 17 of her starts heading into the June 20 NYSS at Buffalo Raceway, though her race going in was a strong one: a second to For A Dancer in the Empire Breeders Classic at Vernon Downs. Fortunista won her NYSS division at Buffalo handily, and followed that with victories at Yonkers, Monticello, Tioga and Yonkers again to finish at the head of her division.

Finishing first in the NYSS Final will be a challenge. Win Missy B’s gutsy nose victory at Yonkers last week made her four-for-four in the NYSS. Previously, she’d finished second by a neck in the Hambletonian Oaks.

Her winning time at Yonkers in her last start was incredible. Barbara Goldstein, Kristins Victory, and Fortunista won their divisions in 2:00.3, 1:57.4 and 1:58.2, respectively. But Cowgirl Hall finished just a nose behind Win Missy B, so she figures to be right there, too.

(Agriculture and New York State Horses Breeding Development Fund)

Related Stories

Leaders Of The Pack - Part 7
Leaders Of The Pack - Part 6
Leaders Of The Pack - Part 5
Leaders Of The Pack - Part 4
Leaders Of The Pack - Part 3
Leaders Of The Pack - Part 2
Leaders Of The Pack - Part 1

view counter

© 2021 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal