Post Positions Drawn For Adios

The 2023 Adios logo
Published: July 26, 2023 01:10 pm EDT

Elimination winners Its My Show and Cannibal will leave side by side in Saturday's $350,000 final of the Delvin Miller Adios Pace for the Orchids at Hollywood Casino at The Meadows.

The connections of those two got to choose their post positions by virtue of their elimination wins. Cannibal's group won a draw for selection order, and trainer Nancy Takter chose post four. Trainer Linda Toscano then opted for post three for Its My Show.

Its My Show put on a spectacular show in his elim, scoring in 1:47.4 to set a world record for sophomore geldings on a five-eighths-mile track. But Cannibal was no slouch, triumphing in 1:48.2. Its My Show is undefeated in seven starts this year while Cannibal has lost only once -- in the Meadowlands Pace final.

The Adios anchors a blockbuster 16-race card that also features five other Grand Circuit stakes. First post is 11:45 a.m., with the Adios as race 15.

For the Adios Day card, The Meadows is offering a total of $170,000 in pool guarantees, several in association with the Meadows Standardbred Owners Association (MSOA) and the United States Trotting Association Strategic Wagering Initiative. The innovative and potentially lucrative wagers include an Adios Pick8 with a $15,000 guarantee (race eight) and a pair of guarantees for the Adios in race 15 -- Trifecta ($40,000) and Superfecta ($20,000).

All the Adios Day action will be livestreamed, with free access at the MSOA Facebook page and YouTube channel. The livestream show, which begins at 11:45 a.m., will be hosted by Meadows race caller Jeff Zidek, prominent harness announcer Gabe Prewitt and Dawnelle Mock of the Pennsylvania Horse Racing Association.

Here's the field for the Adios in post position order with trainers and preliminary driver designations:

$350,000 Delvin Miller Adios
Post - Horse - Listed Driver - Trainer
1. Flite Craft - Mike Wilder - Norm Parker
2. Ervine Hanover - Yannick Gingras - Ron Burke
3. Its My Show - Scott Zeron - Linda Toscano
4. Cannibal - Yannick Gingras - Nancy Takter
5. Redwood Hanover - James MacDonald - Anthony Beaton
6. Bamboozler - Dexter Dunn - Virgil Morgan Jr.
7. Seven Colors - Dave Palone - Brian Brown
8. Ken Hanover - David Miller - Roland Mallar
9. Fulton - Dexter Dunn - Linda Toscano


Have something to say about this? Log in or create an account to post a comment.