2013 B.C. Award Winners Honoured

Published: April 6, 2014 07:22 pm EDT

The annual B.C. Standardbred Awards Banquet took place on Thursday, April 3 at Newlands Golf Club to honour the top performers of the 2013 racing season.

Collecting multiple awards during the evening were Jim Marino, Steve Hudon, Bill Young, J J J Stables, Rod Therres and Dave Hudon.

In addition to the awards presentations, Young and Ray Gemmill were among the newest B.C. Horse Racing Hall of Fame inductees honoured at the banquet. Both men were pioneers of Cloverdale Raceway and are still training stables at Fraser Downs while being in their 80s.

The evening also featured a silent and live auction, with over $5,000 raised for the benevolent and scholarship fund.

A complete list of award winners can be found below.


Two-Year-Old Filly
Run And Tell

Two-Year-Old Colt
Need You So Bad

Three-Year-Old Filly

Three-Year-Old Colt
Why We Were Chosen

Aged Mare
Just Fiction

Aged Horse
I Hear Voices

Broodmare Of The Year
Dal Reo Damsel

Stallion Of The Year
Allamerican Cobalt

Breeders of the Year
Rod Therres and Blair Miller


Claimer 7000 & Under
Anjelles Aura

Claimer 8000 & Over
Sterling Cooper

Aged Mare
Prairie Illusion

Aged Horse
Sterling Cooper

Outstanding Performance
Prairie Illusion and Sterling Cooper

Fastest Mile Of The Year
Sterling Cooper

TBC Future Champion Filly

TBC Rising Star Colt/Gelding
Need You So Bad

Driver Of The Year (20-100 Starts)
Ed Hensley

Driver Of The Year (101-250 Starts)
David McKellar

Driver Of The Year (Over 250 Starts)
Jim Marino

Driver Dash Winner
Jim Marino

Rookie Driver Of The Year
Steve Hudon

Groom Of The Year
Shane Mattice

Trainer Of The Year (20-100 Starts)
William Young

Trainer Of The Year (101-250 Starts)
Bill H. Davis

Trainer Of The Year (Over 250 Starts)
Scott Knight

Trainer Dash Winner
David Hudon

Rookie Trainer Of The Year
Steven Hudon

Horseperson Of The Year
Rod Therres

Standardbred Canada Owner Of The Year
William Young

Fraser Downs Doug Gillespie Award
Brock Lazaruk

Pat Brennan Memorial Award
Gar Campbell

Raymond Gemmill, William Young, Safe N Rich and Rich Jan

(With files from HRBC)